
![]() |
Hi, I'm adjusting my gnome oracle a bit after my first session with her, but I'm wondering if the combination listed in the subject is feasible. I have blackened as my curse, so as of right now, using no weapon with Touch of Flame as my melee ability.
If I choose the bullied trait (You were bullied often as a child, and you are now constantly ready to defend yourself with your fists when an enemy comes near. You gain a +1 trait bonus on attacks of opportunity attack rolls made with unarmed strikes. Note that this trait does not grant the ability to make attacks of opportunity with your unarmed strikes).
Can they be used together? I don't quite understand the note on the trait about unarmed strikes if I am always unarmed. Or is Bullied something I can't even use at all?
Thanks in advance!

![]() |

Sadly, no. Touch of Flames requires its own standard action rather than being usable in place of any normal attack. As such, you can only use it on your turn, and only as a separate standard action. Never as an AoO, not with spring attack, nor on a charge.
If this is a home game you can ask if you DM will let you use it in place of a melee attack. It's not exactly a powerful attack, because it's a touch attack you cannot increase its damage with power attack, and since it's not a weapon you cannot enchant it either. The main draw of the ability is the free Flaming property, which it sounds like you would never get to use properly.
EDIT: Unarmed strikes are normally not considered an armed attack. This means you don't threaten with it and thus can't take AoOs with it, nor can you flank with it. If you have improved unarmed strike then they change to be an armed attack, like having a weapon on you and in hand at all times. Touch of Flames is not something you're armed with because you have to use it on your turn as a standard action, so you don't threaten with it either. If it were a spell you would be able to activate it on your turn, forfeit the attack and use it to threaten by using the "Holding the Charge" rules (and thus take an AoO or use it in place of a melee attack on your next turn). But it's (Su), so you cannot.