Hock
|
In mounted combat, there are two big defensive abilities that can be used as immediate actions. One is a DC15 ride check for the rider to gain cover behind the mount, and the other is a DC[attack roll] ride check with the Mounted Combat feat for the rider to negate a hit on the mount.
What is the timing in which these can be used? Before an attack is declared? After an attack is declared but before the roll is made? After the roll is made but before damage is called out?
Context: During play this evening with a mounted charger summoner, I used the ride check to gain cover ability after I was told an enemy started swinging at me. At that point, the GM said that seeing I was taking cover, the opponent instead attacked the Eidolon, which now had the lower AC due to the cover bonus (resulting in barely hitting and knocking the Eidolon below 0hp). Rather than slowing play I didn't make much fuss over it, but this seems incorrect - the summoner took an immediate action in response specifically to being swung at, and the enemy should not have been able to arbitrarily redirect the attack just because it got harder. So how does this work by RAW? I don't think either of us has much experience in this area (he is a newer GM and this is my first mounted character), and I want to be sure we're doing it right, regardless of who was right to begin with and who has the advantage.
Hock
|
Thanks. So if the attack is already declared when you use cover, that means it can't be redirected, they're already swinging at you?
Also, since you can't attack after doing Ride Cover, I suppose this prevents you from taking any further AOOs for the round?
Now that I think about it, Mounted Combat actually never came up in that session - Ride's Cover ability just kind of came out of nowhere and no one was 100% sure how to adjudicate it (so I went with my normal response - unless the rule interpretation gets my character killed, what the GM says goes, and I can look it up later and bring it up if necessary in the future).
| Gauss |
Right, they are already swinging when you perform your immediate action so they should not be able to redirect.
However, there are some people that think that you can select another action when your action is interrupted via an immediate action, readied action, or AoO. There is a FAQ request on that topic.
Correct, no more AoOs if you are hiding behind your horse.