Handmirrors & Spellcasting Requirements?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Many of the spells that my character casts require him to him to "see" his enemies. Note that it doesn't always say "within line of sight", just "ability to see" the enemy. That leaves the loophole that I could use divination to "see" my enemy, which I'm sure people have used before. But better yet, I could use a mirror.

I am concerned if that's RAW, though. Had it been "line of sight", it'd be RAW that sight refers to a single uninterrupted line between the user and the target, like with a ranged weapon.

So, are handmirrors an accepted way to target your spells? Of course, keeping in mind that using his shield as total cover restricts him to swift and immediate spells only, with no somatic components.

P.S. The Vigal Cap would also fall in the same line of questioning.

Grand Lodge

No they're not.

Not only must you have line of sight, you must also have line of effect to your targets. You can't use hand mirrors to hide around a corner and lightning bolt or magic missle your targets that way.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Handmirrors & Spellcasting Requirements? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions