Do wizard opposition schools (or school abilities) affect non-wizard spells?


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Topic. My player wants to play a magus, and is dipping a level in wizard for the evocation admixture focused school. He wants to apply Versatile Evocation to his magus spells. I don't see why this shouldn't be allowed as the ability doesn't restrict it to wizard class spells (though I would argue that he shouldn't be able to change divine evocations if it came up); however, now he is trying to convince me that his opposition school penalties only apply to his wizard spells. Again, I cite the lack of language pointing to these penalties only applying to spells from the wizard list as evidence that they apply to all spells of that school regardless of the spell list it came from or the class slot it was prepared in.

This player has a habit of making me second guess myself, so I'm sure I'm on the right track but I need someone else to chime in and provide a sanity check.

Lantern Lodge

CORE FAQ (see the "General rule"):

Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?

The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.

General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)

I've made a careful reading of the Wizard Arcane School rules and they do not appear to specifically say that having to use two slots to prepare a spell from an opposition school only applies to Wizard spells. So, I'd have to say that you have to use two slots to prepare any opposition school spells, even non-Wizard (i.e. Magus spells).

On the bright side, the same FAQ supports you using the Admixture ability to modify Magus spells since the Admixture ability does not specifically say it only applies to Wizard spells.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Follow up question. I think I know the answer to this one, as well. Does the wizard's chosen school's extra spell slot per caster level apply to all caster levels or just wizard caster levels?

Casting rules wrote:

A spell's power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to her class level in the class she's using to cast the spell.

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

The way this is worded implies that the wizard's bonus spell slots for his chosen school only apply to his wizard caster level. However, the wizard's arcane school ability says:

Quote:
In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard's spellbook.

That doesn't actually mention caster level, just "spell level he can cast" which tells me it applies to all spell levels the wizard has access to regardless of his wizard level.

Can I get some further clarification on this?

EDIT: One final bonus question that probably merits a new post but since this is already here I'm asking here: do multiclass casters that use spellbooks need more than one spellbook or can they share a single book across multiple classes? I'm guessing no as that seems like more tedium than anything else.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I really don't believe that for a moment Captian Zoom. I just can't imagine the designers intended that FAQ entry to broaden restrictions, rather than reduce them.


My reading is that, RAW, Captain Zoom is correct. Furthermore, a character would get bonus spells as you point out in your follow-up question. I did some searching a while back and was never able to find a dev response on the subject (although if there is one I'd be glad to see it).

Generally, people seem to believe that Versatile Evocation would apply and that the Opposition Schools and bonus spells do not. I'd say the Wizard player can't have it both ways, reaping (some of) the benefits of his class features but not the drawbacks.


I'm inclined to agree as well. My player will be pleased. Thanks for the responses!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That's not right, remember to read the rule in context: It's a Wizard class ability talking about a Wizard's ability to prepare spells:

Arcane School wrote:


A wizard that chooses to specialize in one school of magic must select two other schools as his opposition schools, representing knowledge sacrificed in one area of arcane lore to gain mastery in another. A wizard who prepares spells from his opposition schools must use two spell slots of that level to prepare the spell. For example, a wizard with evocation as an opposition school must expend two of his available 3rd-level spell slots to prepare a fireball. In addition, a specialist takes a –4 penalty on any skill checks made when crafting a magic item that has a spell from one of his opposition schools as a prerequisite. A universalist wizard can prepare spells from any school without restriction.

If he's preparing Magus spells in a Magus spell slot, he's not a Wizard preparing spells: He's a Magus. He has a level of Wizard, sure, but that doesn't have anything to do with his Magus class features. He uses the Wizard rules, and only the Wizard rules to prepare spells in his Wizard spell slots. And the Magus rules, but only the Magus rules to prepare spells in his Magus spell slots.

That means no bonus spells for Magus levels, as well as no double slots for Magus spells from his Wizard opposition school.

Compare the general Wizard school wording to the Admixture school wording:

Admixture School wrote:


Versatile Evocation (Su): When you cast an evocation spell that does acid, cold, electricity, or fire damage, you may change the damage dealt to one of the other four energy types. This changes the descriptor of the spell to match the new energy type. ... You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier.

Look at the difference: "When you cast a spell..." compared to "A Wizard who prepares spells..."

That's what the FAQ is talking about. The rules about opposition schools and extra slots are only for Wizard spells prepared in Wizard spell slots and have no impact on other classes' spell preparation.


Actually, now that I'm thinking about it again, the bonus school spell slot rule could be interpreted differently.

Quote:
In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a wizard can prepare a spell from his specialty school in that slot. This spell must be in the wizard's spellbook.

If he's wizard 1/magus 7, and he receives an additional spell slot of each spell the wizard can cast, then it would be limited only to wizard spells he has access to, and not all of them.

Additionally, it could mean it must be be a wizard spell in the wizard's spellbook. If a multi magus/wizard is required to keep two separate spellbooks (which could be the case, given that class spell slots are kept separate and the spells are drawn from two different lists), then he could only apply spells from his wizard's spellbook to the bonus slot. Ugh. There's still a lot of ambiguity here, wish we could get an official ruling either way.


Akerlof wrote:
*Stuff*

Hah! You wrote exactly what I was thinking when I made my last post. The wizard's spell slots are distinct from the magus' spell slots, therefore the rules that apply to spells prepared as a wizard and the rules that apply to spells prepared as a magus. Makes sense.


Just to add further clarification to Akerlof's (and my new) perspective, when you replace Magus in the example with Cleric, it becomes much more obvious that the Wizard's bonus spells from his arcane school would not apply to other class spell levels.


You can use the same physical spellbook, but there is a distinction between magus spells and wizard spells.


Akerlof's interpretation is one that I'd considered as well, but I don't find it convincing. Even if you are a Wizard 1/Magus 1 your character is a (1) wizard and he or she is (2) preparing a spell.

People generally believe that a Spellslinger can use Arcane Gun with other classes' spells, but that ability specifically references the Spellslinger as the one who can use it.

Or go look at the Arcane Trickster:

Arcane Trickster wrote:
Tricky Spells (Su): Starting at 5th level, an arcane trickster can cast her spells without their somatic or verbal components, as if using the Still Spell and Silent Spell feats. Spells cast using this ability do not increase in spell level or casting time. She can use this ability 3 times per day at 5th level and one additional time per every two levels thereafter, to a maximum of 5 times per day at 9th level. The arcane trickster decides to use this ability at the time of casting.

It's pretty obvious that this ability applies to spells that the AT gains from other classes.


Torchlyte wrote:

Akerlof's interpretation is one that I'd considered as well, but I don't find it convincing. Even if you are a Wizard 1/Magus 1 your character is a (1) wizard and he or she is (2) preparing a spell.

People generally believe that a Spellslinger can use Arcane Gun with other classes' spells, but that ability specifically references the Spellslinger as the one who can use it.

Or go look at the Arcane Trickster:

Arcane Trickster wrote:
Tricky Spells (Su): Starting at 5th level, an arcane trickster can cast her spells without their somatic or verbal components, as if using the Still Spell and Silent Spell feats. Spells cast using this ability do not increase in spell level or casting time. She can use this ability 3 times per day at 5th level and one additional time per every two levels thereafter, to a maximum of 5 times per day at 9th level. The arcane trickster decides to use this ability at the time of casting.
It's pretty obvious that this ability applies to spells that the AT gains from other classes.

I see your point, but Tricky Spells applies to casting spells that are already prepared. It's the same distinction as the one made in the Versatile Evocation ability. Arcane Trickster is a prestige class that is designed for multiclassed characters and that Tricky Spells should apply to any spells the character has prepared is implicit in the language.

It sounds ambiguous, until you consider that the wizard's bonus slot is for wizard spells. The spells learned as a wizard can only be slotted into the caster's wizard spell slots, and the spells learned as a magus can only be slotted into magus spell slots. He can't use his wizard Level 1 spell slots to prepare spells he learned as a magus, the same way he couldn't if he had cleric levels. Bonus slots gained from high ability scores work the same way -- they only allow spell prep for the class the bonus slots were earned in.

It is key to note that the wording for the bonus spell slot says, "This spell must be in the wizard's spellbook." "In the wizard's spellbook" implies that it was learned as a wizard spell, not another class spell that is also conveniently on the wizard spell list.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There is no rule or faq that I am aware of that says 'If a class ability modifies your spell preparation, it applies to your classes, not just the class that modifies your preparation.'

Spell preparation and spell casting are not the same thing, an spell preparation is much more of an individual class focused mechanic than spell casting is.

So basically the Magus gets the Versatile Evocation for his magus spells, but the bonus spells, opposition schools etc only apply to his wizard spells.


There is no rule or faq that I am aware of that says 'If a class ability modifies your spell preparation, it applies to just the class that modifies your preparation not your classes.'

The distinction between whether a feature affects preparation or casting is irrelevant, the question is whether a class feature can affect another class's spells. The claim was made that only [features that don't reference the class name] could be applied in this manner. Comparison to outside examples suggests that this is not correct.


Torchlyte wrote:
Comparison to outside examples suggests that this is not correct.

Your outside example is not applicable in this situation the same way that Versatile Evocation is not applicable. Class spells and spell preparation are not class features. You cannot under any circumstance prepare one class' spells in slots that you earned from another class unless the class providing those slots specifically states as much.

Arcane Trickster's Spells per Day wrote:
When a new arcane trickster level is gained, the character gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in a spellcasting class she belonged to before adding the prestige class. She does not, however, gain other benefits a character of that class would have gained, except for additional spells per day, spells known (if she is a spontaneous spellcaster), and an increased effective level of spellcasting.

Would you argue that a wizard 2 [transmuatation]/cleric 2 could prepare his cleric Magic Weapon spell in his bonus transmutation spell slot? No, because that spell is provided by his cleric levels. It is not in his Wizard spellbook, nor was it taken from the Wizard list. He would also need to know the spell as a Wizard to do so.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Torchlyte wrote:

Akerlof's interpretation is one that I'd considered as well, but I don't find it convincing. Even if you are a Wizard 1/Magus 1 your character is a (1) wizard and he or she is (2) preparing a spell.

People generally believe that a Spellslinger can use Arcane Gun with other classes' spells, but that ability specifically references the Spellslinger as the one who can use it.

Or go look at the Arcane Trickster:

Arcane Trickster wrote:
Tricky Spells (Su): Starting at 5th level, an arcane trickster can cast her spells without their somatic or verbal components, as if using the Still Spell and Silent Spell feats. Spells cast using this ability do not increase in spell level or casting time. She can use this ability 3 times per day at 5th level and one additional time per every two levels thereafter, to a maximum of 5 times per day at 9th level. The arcane trickster decides to use this ability at the time of casting.
It's pretty obvious that this ability applies to spells that the AT gains from other classes.

Arcane Trickster, as well as other prestige classes, are not very good examples:

How many spells, and what levels, does a 5th level Arcane Trickster get? Is Scorching Ray on the Arcane Trickster spell list?

The problem with your reasoning is that, as a prestige class, the Arcane Trickster doesn't grant any spells at all. Instead, it advances another class's spellcasting level. So, Tricky Spells cannot be referencing class specific spells, because there aren't any class specific spells for the Arcane Trickster. In order to do anything, Tricky Spells has to apply to another class's spells, and since the number of uses per day is tied to your Arcane Trickster level, rather than character or caster level, it makes sense to reference "Arcane Trickster" instead of "You" in this context.

That's fundamentally different than the how a Wizard or Magus works.

You mention the Spellslinger, look at what the arechetype says:

Arcane Gun wrote:


A spellslinger can cast any ranged touch attack, cone, line, or ray spells through his arcane gun. ...

It clearly says "any ranged ... spells..." rather than "ranged ... Wizard spells..." or something of the sort. If casting Reach Harm wasn't intended, then that's a poorly written archetype. Plain and simple.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do wizard opposition schools (or school abilities) affect non-wizard spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions