Card Guild & Games Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society

Silver Crusade 3/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am fielding a lot of questions for the card guild. Many of my questions have been answered in the thread which is GREAT! and some of them have not or I have not found them. I am going to post the harder questions I have received and how I have "ruled" for now. Please let me know if my ruling is correct or incorrect. Thanks so much! This community is very helpful and it is AWESOME!

Casey Clements
VL Greater Raleigh Area

Question 1. If a player has gained a card as a reward of an ITEM 1. They now choose an ITEM 1 card. During play, the ITEM 1 Card has to be banished so they return it to their box. When they rebuild, do they get an ITEM 1 or is it "Crossed Off" Their Chronicle?

My Answer 1. The banished rules work like the adventure game. I know you worked hard for the card but if is banished it has been "destroyed, melted, lost" in rpg terms. You will have to gain another upgrade to fill the void or recreate your deck with a BASIC B Card. Otherwise, Banish would = Bury (except some buried cards can be returned other ways) It is not unlike PFS where you buy a potion and use it up and then it is gone for good until you buy it again.

Question 2. There is a rule that allows you to replace a card you cannot possibly beat in solo/duo play with another card you do have the potential to defeat. Does this rule still apply for Guild play?

My Answer 2. Bad stuff happens. I realize a card might lock the game up and it is frustrating .. but just take a draw on the timer and play again using the "timer ran out" rules. I can also see the argument of run it like the rules of the game that say you can. Unsure really which way to go on this one.

Question 3. What determines if a card can be played out of turn? For example .. Lookout 2nd ability is NOT for a check specifically so can you play that out of turn and search "your location" even when it is another players turn to effectively "search their location" as long as you are at that location with them.

My Answer 3. If the card does not say play on a check (Like Cure) you can do this whenever you want to do this. If a card says any check you can do this on any check even not on your turn. If it says Your check it must be done on your turn. The lookout card in question brings up another point .. "What is your location?" Do you even have a location when it is not your turn? Seems like you do based on other events in the game (Like being attacked by enemies if an ally turns over a card that attacks everyone at that location). My ruling is you MAY use the lookout on someone else's turn to search "your location" and if "your location" happens to be "their location" that is fine.

Question 4. Is a summoned card still considered to have the tag "henchman" for cards that effect henchmen. (Like for Sage Journal)

My Answer 4. I think this is answered somewhere else but I cannot find it currently. I know the summoned card does not act like a henchmen for closing the location of for the text allowing an attempt to close. The intent of the journal is probably to only target "actual" henchmen. I will ask about this.

Question 5. If multiple things say "at the start of your turn" or would happen "at the start of your turn" what order are they resolved in? (Like attempt to fix a ship and ship takes location damage - it would matter the order)

My Answer 5. Blessings get turned first, then you resolve the items in the order you choose. I'm not sure there are any "stacking" rules yet.

Apologies if these were answered already and thank you kindly in advance for helping me resolve these!


1. You rebuild with normal rules, not your history. So you can only use the cards you have when the scenario ends and any rewards or upgrades you earn then. No fishing past upgrades out of your box.

2. There is no such exception for organized play. There is a provision to allow you to play two characters solo if one character would be problematic.

3. You can play a card any time the card itself allows it, except that during an encounter you can only play things that relate to the steps of an encounter.

S&S Rulebook p9 wrote:
Anyone can play a card whenever the card allows it.
S&S Rulebook p10 wrote:

Encountering a Card

During each of these steps, you and the other players may perform only the specified actions. Players may only play cards or use powers that relate to each step (or relate to cards played or powers used in that step).

You can play Cure on someone else's turn, and you can also play Lookout on someone else's turn, since it doesn't say "on your turn". And your location is the location your character's token is currently at. Basically, if you can meet the conditions of playing the card and if the thing it tells you to do is something you can do, you can play it.

4. Yes. It is a summoned henchman, but summoned henchmen are henchmen too. So Sage's Journal still works on them.

5. You decide when no order is given. So if multiple things happen at the start of you turn, you decide which order to do them in.

S&S RUelbook p29 wrote:
Finish One Thing Before You Start Something Else You do many things in a specific order, and you need to finish doing each thing before you do the next thing... That said, if the game doesn’t specify an order for things, you decide the order.

The rules tell you to flip the blessing to start you turn first, then apply start of the turn effects. If there are multiple effects, you determine which order you'll do them in.

Sovereign Court

Question 1 - Definitely correct

Question 2 - I don't know that the replacement rule applies here, but I'm inclined to say no for Organized Play purposes to make sure everyone is playing the same game without swapping cards to make sure they have cards they can do. Sometimes you find cards you can't handle. Maybe it's the fact that I don't like this rule at all, but I definitely think that Organized Play specifically needs to be unmodified based on player count

Question 3 - There are a few things you can't do. You cannot explore on someone else's turn (you can examine, not explore, Lookout is fine). You cannot play any card that does not affect the check. Cards like Rage are playable during a check if the player uses its ability, but if they player does not want to use the power, a player cannot play Rage and force them to. You cannot play cards like Masterwork Tools or Caltrops on other players. You cannot evade, defeat, acquire, etc. any cards for another player. You can play cards that assist, or if a card (I don't think any currently exist) specifically say to pick a character to evade, defeat, acquire, etc. on another player.

You always have a location, your location is always wherever you are, no matter what. It doesn't matter if you are with the current player or not. If they're at Lonely Island, you're at Shark Island, and it's their turn, your location is Shark Island and anything mentioning "your location" for you refers to Shark Island.

Question 4 - A henchman is a henchman is a henchman. It doesn't matter why you're encountering them, a henchman is always a henchman. The rule about not closing is not because they are entirely or partially not counting as henchmen. It's because they allow you to close their location, not your location. If the henchman was summoned, it doesn't have a location, so there is nothing for you to attempt to close.

Question 5 - Flipping the blessing is an obvious first, that's a separate part. I would put the rest of the actions in hierarchy order.

Adventure Path --> Adventure --> Scenario --> Characters --> All other cards

If multiple powers come from the same rank of card (One character says "At the start of your turn", and another says "At the start of everyone's turn"), I'd agree you choose the order.


Andrew Klein wrote:
You can play cards that assist, or if a card (I don't think any currently exist) specifically say to pick a character to evade, defeat, acquire, etc. on another player.

Potion of Ghostly Form ;-) Also I recall one of the evasion spells allows a character at your location to evade... Sanctuary perhaps?

Grand Lodge

Andrew Klein wrote:
Question 4 - A henchman is a henchman is a henchman. It doesn't matter why you're encountering them, a henchman is always a henchman. The rule about not closing is not because they are entirely or partially not counting as henchmen. It's because they allow you to close their location, not your location. If the henchman was summoned, it doesn't have a location, so there is nothing for you to attempt to close.

Also, in the scenario The Lone Shark, where Hammerhead sharks are summoned and fought at the start of your turn at Shark Island, they do not count as henchmen set aside to increase the difficulty of the villain. Only the ones defeated when encountered at the location decks. Otherwise they are henchmen for the sake of cards/powers that work against (or for) henchmen.

Silver Crusade 3/5 RPG Superstar 2014 Top 32

Awesome! Thanks for the quick responses. This mainly reinforces what I thought was correct and clarifies a few other things very well. Great answers! I appreciate the assistance!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

As usual, Hawkmoon269 is right about everything.

Sovereign Court

Vic Wertz wrote:
As usual, Hawkmoon269 is right about everything.

Yes, but eventually your creation will become self aware and will take over as Lord of PACG.


I thought that already happened :S

1/5

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
2. There is no such exception for organized play. There is a provision to allow you to play two characters solo if one character would be problematic.

What exactly are the rules regarding this? Would I need to buy a second character deck, or can I build a standard box set character? Since only my "main" can be registered anyway, it seems like a box character should be okay, but if so, can I keep him and upgrade him? Using which rules?

Sovereign Court

If any character is being registered, all characters must be OP legal. So, you can't report a Class Deck Lem if Feiya was involved, but you can if you were using Rise of the Runelords Valeros with the Fighter deck. Any reporting must involve a 100% OP legal party.

You would need a second character deck, because no class decks have enough cards to have two characters built at the same time (at least not until you have some significant upgrades).

Grand Lodge

Riff Conner wrote:
What exactly are the rules regarding this? Would I need to buy a second character deck, or can I build a standard box set character? Since only my "main" can be registered anyway, it seems like a box character should be okay, but if so, can I keep him and upgrade him? Using which rules?

You should grab and read the Guide to Pathfinder Society Adventure Card Guild Organized Play. That will give you most of what you need for deck building, playing, etc. Andrew is correct that all characters played in OP must be legal whether reported or not. So while you're reporting Ezren, Valeros must be legal for OP as well. As you are upgrading your reported character, you are able to gain rewards and upgrades for the others. It is on page 7 of the guide.

1/5

Yeah, I figured that would probably be the rule, but I thought I'd cross my fingers and ask just in case.

Oh well, guess I'd better get a second deck in before Merisiel runs into something she can't handle alone.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Card Guild & Games Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society