| nondeskript |
The Ghoul ends your turn because it explicitly states that it ends your turn. Nothing in the rules say that getting moved ends your turn or encounter.
As far as which locations modifiers apply, it is always the location you are at unless a card explicitly says otherwise. This was covered in the discussion about Alahazra. She can encounter boons at other locations. When she does she uses the "at this location" from her current location.
Two key things to remember here: Cards do what they say. Cards don't do what they don't say. If a card doesn't say it ends your encounter or turn or forces you to fail or evade an encounter then it doesn't do any of those things.
Calthaer
|
The Ghoul ends your turn because it explicitly states that it ends your turn. Nothing in the rules say that getting moved ends your turn or encounter.
No, they don't. Not yet. But given the fact that Sir Mike of Selinkeria and the Knight of Wertzershire have both commented in this thread, I expect that something is going to change to resolve the apparent conundrum. Either the rules may change to cover this scenario, or the card / cards may receive some sort of correction. I'm going to guess that the former might be the case, as this is an example of emergent gameplay, and I'm sure they want the rules to be robust enough to handle the things that might happen when several randomly-drawn and encountered cards work in conjunction to stymie stalwart gamers.
| nondeskript |
I'm sure that the devs will come to a final ruling on this, but I just don't see any mechanical problems. Yes there it is weird to defeat the villain from another island. It's also weird to have a character shoot an arrow from another island to help you with your check. You have to roll with it. We already know we can encounter cards at a different location, we already know how that applies to the "At this Location" things, as that was covered here. The rules are explicit about which location a villain causes you to close (the Villain's location, not yours). If a Henchman card ever caused this to happen, the Henchman cards explicitly states which location you would close (the location it came from). The only thing that really needs errataing is Harsk & Lirianne to match the verbiage Vic used ("by a character at another location" instead of "at another location") & Damiel & Lini should change from "any combat check at your location" to "any combat check by a character at your location".
I was looking for anything else that could be a problem in the characters and I also noticed this:
When you defeat (□ or another character at your location defeats) a monster, you may examine the bottom card (□ or bottom 2 cards) of its location deck (□ and return them in any order).
Note that it clearly says "its location deck" not "your location deck". This clearly implies the designers know that it is (or could be) possible to encounter a monster at a different location and wanted to make sure that was covered by the power.
Here is one nuance that is not clear
□ When you move other than during your move step, one character at your location
may move with you.
Hypothetical: Valendron, Lem & Merisiel are together. Merisiel encounter the Scribbler. Valendron does his summon first & summons the Water Elemental & fails the check. Lem goes with him during his forced move. Does he still encounter a summoned monster?
NOG the Demoralizer
|
Playing out the encounter in my head from a RPG perspective this is what I come up with-
Harder: you move if a card tells you to move via hydraulic push or whatever mechanic the card is emulating, you give the villain the undefeated status, lose blessings, and continue.
Easier: you are locked in combat with the villain and his cohort. Once he sees you lose the first round he sees an opportunity to take you when you are weakened, and does not let you move from his location or end the combat, you complete the encounter after resolving the damage you took from the cohort ignoring the rest.
In game terms, errata would state that if during an encounter with a villain any card tells you to move, the encounter ends and the villain is undefeated following normal rules for undefeated villains.
Alternately errata states that any movement or change in turn caused by a cohort while engaged with the henchman is automatically impossible, and that portion of the encounter is ignored following the rules for impossible actions.
Both would be acceptable logically to me, it would just depend on how the devs want it to run.
| jones314 |
Playing out the encounter in my head from a RPG perspective this is what I come up with
...
Both would be acceptable logically to me, it would just depend on how the devs want it to run.
So could you explain getting whisked away but continuing the fight with the villain while you are at a different location than the villain? Taking the cards purely as written, this could be the effect.
| nondeskript |
I think in Wrathack's case it's probably to cover summoned monsters, just like how you can't close a location when you defeat a summoned henchman.
Ah, that hadn't occurred to me. Interestingly, Darago has:
□ After you defeat a bane that has the Undead trait, you may examine the top card of your location deck (□ and you may shuffle that deck).
So in his case, he gets to look at his location deck regardless of whether the Undead bane was summoned or at a different location.
Regardless there is nothing in the rules to say the combat doesn't or can't continue. Continuing the combat doesn't cause anything else to not work, so it isn't impossible. So the combat continues. If we're going to get hung up on every time something in the game doesn't make sense story-wise this probably isn't the game to play. How did I get a "Collapsed Ceiling" or "Trapped Passageway" in the woods? That makes no sense. But we roll with it because that's part of the game.