Another Brawler Question...Brawler's Flurry this time


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Brawler's Flurry contains the following line:

Quote:
When doing so, a brawler has the Two-Weapon Fighting feat when attacking with any combination of unarmed strikes, weapons from the close fighter weapon group, or weapons with the "monk" special feature.

If I haven't actually taken Two-Weapon Fighting as a permanent feat, could I use Martial Flexibility to take a Combat Feat that has Two-Weapon Fighting as a prerequisite as long as I only used that feat as part of a Brawler's Flurry? Specifically I'm thinking of Break Guard.

Or, if I'm at least 6th level, could I do the same thing in between the flurry attacks as a swift action (can swift and free actions happen in between iterative attacks, not sure about that one)?

Of course this would probably be a waste of a Martial Flexibility use since the feat would go away immediately after the flurry ended.


I believe this means you would only have the feats while you use the flurry ability, but you keep them for 10 rounds (1 Minute) so if you flurried again during that time you could still use those feats.


I agree with the above poster. You would only meet the feats' prerequisites while using brawler's flurry, and thus couldn't use them any other time, but they would still persist for the usual duration. A relevant quote from the playtest:

Jason Bulmahn wrote:
• A brawler can use the feats granted by brawler's flurry to qualify for other feats, but can only use those other feats when using brawler's flurry (as that's the only time she actually meets those prerequisites).

Silver Crusade

Cool, I actually wouldn't have expected the designers to rule that way. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Another Brawler Question...Brawler's Flurry this time All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.