
aaronak |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |

This spell is from the Advanced Class Guide, pp. 181-182:
School necromancy [emotion, fear, mind-affecting]; level bard 4, shaman 5, sorcerer/wizard 5, witch 5
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V,S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Targets one or more living creatures (see text)
Duration 1 round/level
Saving Throw Fortitude negates; spell Resistance yesEach round, you can target a single living creature of up to 9 HD and strike it with terrifying waves of power. If the target fails its saving throw, it becomes panicked for 1d4 rounds, and you gain 5 temporary hit points (which disappear after 1 hour). After the panic ends, the creature remains shaken for 10 minutes per caster level, and it automatically becomes panicked again if it comes within sight of you during that time.
These temporary hit points stack if they are from different creatures.
Question: What kind of action is it to target a new creature? Is it a swift action like eyebite, a free action like analyze dweomer, or a standard action to concentrate like implosion?
EDIT: Quoted the entire spell entry.

Mark Seifter Designer |

Most spell like that require you to concentrate or they will say what it takes to select a new target on the following rounds.
There is no general rule for this that I know of. I will press the FAQ button.
The general rule exists under magic in the CRB.
Some spells allow you to redirect the effect to new targets or areas after you cast the spell. Redirecting a spell is a move action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.