Confused about the mongrel mage...


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Is this accurate? It makes no sense to me.

"At 7th level, when a mongrel mage is activating her selected bloodline, the mongrel mage can instead spend 3 points from her mongrel reservoir, allowing her to use the bloodline's 1st-, 3rd-, and 7th-level powers as well as its bloodline arcana at her full sorcerer level for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma bonus.

At 20th level, when activating her selected bloodline, a mongrel mage can instead spend 5 points from her mongrel reservoir, allowing her to use all of the bloodline's powers as well as its bloodline arcana at her full sorcerer level for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1)."

There is no 7th level bloodline power. I'm assuming they mean 9th level. And what about the 15th bloodline power, we can't access it till 20th level?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

It's a typo. One of a jillion in the ACG. Editing was out to lunch that day or something.


yes, i figured for the 7 they meant 9, but still the gap between the 9th level bloodline ability to the 20th level bloodline ability seems strange.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

That raises the question of whether the mongrel mage should get that ability at 7th level or at 9th. At what level would it have gotten the replaced ability?


I would expect 9th.


It must be a freebie then. Just like all the archetypes that say this ability replaces .

Those aren't typos, their freebies.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Bleeding Sun has the right idea.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Confused about the mongrel mage... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.