
![]() |

Hi there!
Recently we ran into the following situation:
The wizard wanted to cast Summon Monster. He uses his full-round action to do so.
Before he finishes his spell he takes damage from a bomb. No worries; he makes his concentration check and all is well.
However, the bomb has a secondary effect: He is now stunned because he failed his save.
What would happen in this case? I can see three different outcomes:
a) He made his save. While he will lose his next round the spell still goes off.
b) He has to make an additional save similar to how non-damaging spells work:
If the spell interferes with you or distracts you in some other way, the DC is the spell's saving throw DC + the level of the spell you're casting.
c) He is stunned and it is an unwritten rule that if you are not able to take any kind of action you lose the spell.
I would say c), but I am not really sure how to justify it rules-wise.
What do you guys think?
Addendum 1: What would happen with nauseated? Nauseated says that you can't cast or concentrate, so I'd say you lose the spell.
Addendum 2: This happened in a PFS game, so the less house-ruly it gets the better.

Dave Justus |

"When you begin a spell that takes 1 round or longer to cast, you must continue the concentration from the current round to just before your turn in the next round (at least). If you lose concentration before the casting is complete, you lose the spell."
I believe any condition that doesn't let you cast spells is the equivalent of an infinitely difficult concentration check. This would include naseated, stunned, unconscious, dead etc. If you can't cast a spell, you also can't concentrate on casting spell.