Boar spear and druid


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

A boar spear count as a spear for the weapon proficiencies and can be used by a druid or not?

Grand Lodge

Diego Rossi wrote:

A boar spear count as a spear for the weapon proficiencies and can be used by a druid or not?

I would say yes because the description starts off with "this spear". Table variation may vary.

Grand Lodge

No.

It is a separate weapon.

Sovereign Court

The answer in rules as written terms the answer is: No a druid is not proficient with a boar spear.

Nothing in the description for a boar spear states it uses the same proficiency as a regular Spear, counts as a spear or so forth. Druids are only proficient with the Spear and Shortspear of spear-type weapons, not long spears or other variants there of.

A boar spear is also different from a regular spear in game mechanic terms. More expensive, heavier, not balanced for throwing and that little added ability to bracing.


Sadly, it wouldn't, though it has always annoyed me that they don't just give druids proficiency in all simple spears. It would give the druid a few more options for backup weapons, make aid another a viable option for a druid that doesn't want to be directly by an enemy, and just generally make that part easier for everyone without adding any significant power.

Sovereign Court

Indeed it happens a lot Sunshadow that newer books come out and it isn't thought to add a little (admittedly easily forgotten) "Druids/Monks/Halflings/Whatever are also proficient in the use of this weapon" line.

Think I've only seen the Temple Sword added to a class' proficiency really.

Of course that's very easy to get around in a home game or through game mechanics too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Boar spear and druid All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions