Pinpoint Targeting and Vital Strike


Rules Questions


Hey all. This is my first post here. I'm playing in a game with some friends and this question came up for my Gunslinger. I have both Vital Strike (and all the other strikes above it including Mythic) and Pinpoint Targeting. Can they be used together?

Pinpoint Targeting states that as a standard action, make a single ranged attack.

Vital Strike (and all the others above it) states when you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage.

Pinpoint Targeting has 3 feats as Prerequisites: Precise Shot, Improved Precise Shot and Point-Blank Shot. All of these prerequisites are passive feats, meaning they generally are used without having to state their use (at least in our game it is).

To me, an attack action is a standard action. Pinpoint Targeting says that you use your standard action to make an attack action. So, because I'm making a single attack action, Vital Strike should work with this, correct?


No, an attack action is a specific standard action. The Pinpoint Targeting feat requires you to use a standard action and grants an attack, but it does not use an attack action.

I don't think it would be a bad house rule to allow them to work together, but as written they don't.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pinpoint Targeting and Vital Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions