Mythic Paragon and Legendary Items


Rules Questions


This was previous discussed here but never answered.

Does the Mythic Paragon feat affect abilities granted by a Legendary Item bonded with a mythic player? One example is the Spellcasting sub-ability in the Intelligent Item ability.

The text for Spellcasting reads as follows:

Quote:
This item allows its bearer to cast a limited number of spells as spell-like abilities. This ability can be taken more than once. Each time it's taken, the bonded creature gains 5 points to spend on selecting what spells the item can cast. A spell costs a number of points equal to its level (minimum 1). The bearer can then activate the item to use each spell-like ability once per day. By spending double the cost, the bearer can use each spell-like ability three times per day. All spells must come from the same class's spell list. No spell can have a level higher than the bonded creature's tier. The caster level for these spells is equal to double the bonded creature's tier. The save DC for these spells is equal to 10 + the spell level + the bonded creature's tier.

The text for Mythic Paragon reads as follows:

Quote:
Your tier is considered 2 higher for determining the potency of mythic abilities, feats, and spells. This doesn't grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them, nor does it grant you additional uses of mythic power or adjust the dice you roll for your surge.

Would having Mythic Paragon open up new choices for spells or affect the DC of the chosen SLAs?

The text of Mythic Paragon specifically says it affects the potency of Mythic Spells, such as DC. It also explicitly states it does not change qualification for mythic spells. However, the SLAs being chosen in Spellcasting are only normal spells.

What is the ruling on this?


I would rule yes it improves the legendary item as if you were 2 higher.

I actually have a witch that's using it to the do what you're asking in a wrath game. We also ruled you get the abilities sooner too, for example at 1st tier I had all 3 abilities which is the max for taking it once. When I hit 3rd tier I'll gain 2 additional abilities as if I was tier 5. Remember you can only have a number of abilities equal to your tier.

I consider mythic paragon one of the strongest mythic options.


Quote:
Your tier is considered 2 higher for determining the potency of mythic abilities, feats, and spells. This doesn't grant you access to mythic abilities or greater versions of mythic spells at a lower tier than you would normally need to be to get them, nor does it grant you additional uses of mythic power or adjust the dice you roll for your surge.

You get more spells if you take 'Spellcasting' more than once. The amount of spells is not influenced by your mythic tier. It depends on how often you choose 'Intelligent - Spellcasting'.

The spells DC depends on your tier so it is influenced by Mythic Paragon.

Quote:
The save DC for these spells is equal to 10 + the spell level + the bonded creature's tier.


The caster level and max spell level you can choose is tier based.


Quote:
When a mythic creature creates a legendary item (using the legendary item universal path ability), the item can have up to three additional abilities, but no more than the number of tiers possessed by the creature bonded to it.

Ok i missed this so Onyxlion is correct.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mythic Paragon and Legendary Items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.