Purchasing of Magic Weapons Confusion


Rules Questions


So I have a little bit of confusion on how to price magic weapons and armor, since me and a friend of mine have 3 different people telling us three different things.

Let's imagine we are purchasing a +1 weapon with Unholy (which adds a +2 bonus to cost)

The bonus cost at this point is:
+1 2,000 GP
+2 8,000 GP
+3 18,000 GP

So we have one person telling us that you have to get the +1 and then add the cost incrementally up until you get to the +3, therefore, it would cost 28,000 gold.

We have a second person telling us that you add the +2 bonus onto the base price of the magic weapon (Base: 2k, Bonus: 18k), therefore it costs 20,000 gold.

And we have a third person telling us that if you buy a +1 weapon with a +2 bonus, you just pay the price of a +3 weapon, which would make it cost 18,000 gold.

So, we would like this confusion to end the correct way, so what I would like to know is who, if any of them, are right? Any help is greatly appreciated.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The cost is not cumulative.

"And we have a third person telling us that if you buy a +1 weapon with a +2 bonus, you just pay the price of a +3 weapon, which would make it cost 18,000 gold."

Give this person ice cream and slap the others.

Although I cannot find where it says this specifically if you look at the chart it goes up to +10 but a weapon cannot have higher than a +5 bonus (nor do any abilities) Therefore if the chart was to be interpreted as your other friends think it is the chart would not need to go past 5 ...... did that make it clearer or more confusing..... :)


Thank you for the quick response, what if you already have a +1 weapon and want to add Unholy to it at a later date, do you essentially have to buy a new weapon and still end up paying the 18k or is the cost reduced at all? Or adding +2 or +3 to a weapon that you already have +1'd


Viridios wrote:
Thank you for the quick response, what if you already have a +1 weapon and want to add Unholy to it at a later date, do you essentially have to buy a new weapon and still end up paying the 18k or is the cost reduced at all? Or adding +2 or +3 to a weapon that you already have +1'd

Pay the difference.

e.g, it was +1 (cost 2000gp) and will now cost 18k. The difference you need to pay is 16k to get it upgraded.


my reading of the rules would be to pay the difference between the two costs.

Therefore, you are looking at 18000 - 2000 = 16000 that you would have to pay.


You would pay for it as if it was a new weapon (+1 Unholy Wepon) then subtract what is already there (+1 weapon)

"Thus, a +1 longsword can be made into a +2 vorpal longsword, with the cost to create it being equal to that of a +2 vorpal sword minus the cost of a +1 longsword."


Thank you again everybody for the timely responses. That is all the questions I needed answered.


Subtract the price of the final product from the existing item. Since a +1 weapon costs 2,000 gp (plus the cost of the masterwork weapon) and a +1 unholy weapon costs 18,000 gp (plus the cost of the masterwork weapon), to upgrade from +1 to +1 unholy, the cost would be 16,000 gp.

Edit: Damn ninjas. : )


Note that it takes time to upgrade a weapon. Use half the upgrade cost to calculate. At 1 day/1000gp (IIRC), it would take 8 days to upgrade the +1 to a +3 (or +1 unholy). Assuming the crafter doesn't have feats, uses accelerated crating (increase Spellcraft DC by +5), or something to speed up the process.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Purchasing of Magic Weapons Confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.