
dunelord3001 |

Yes.
Summon Monster ISchool conjuration (summoning) [see text]; Level antipaladin 1, bard 1, cleric/oracle 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
CASTING
Casting Time 1 round
Components V, S, F/DF (a tiny bag and a small candle)EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one summoned creature
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance noDESCRIPTION
This spell summons an extraplanar creature (typically an outsider, elemental, or magical beast native to another plane). It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. The spell conjures one of the creatures from the 1st Level list on Table: Summon Monster. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can choose a different one each time you cast the spell...

Ornery Hobbit |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Yes.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com wrote:
Summon Monster ISchool conjuration (summoning) [see text]; Level antipaladin 1, bard 1, cleric/oracle 1, sorcerer/wizard 1, summoner 1, witch 1
CASTING
Casting Time 1 round
Components V, S, F/DF (a tiny bag and a small candle)EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one summoned creature
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance noDESCRIPTION
This spell summons an extraplanar creature (typically an outsider, elemental, or magical beast native to another plane). It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. The spell conjures one of the creatures from the 1st Level list on Table: Summon Monster. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can choose a different one each time you cast the spell...
OK, now what about things like Eidolons, Familiars and Animal Companions?
Thanks

![]() |

What HH meant to ask was do Summoner's Eidelons go on their own initiative or the summoner's. One is usually different than the other, and unlike summoned monsters, Eidelons are intelligent enough to act on their own accord.
The question comes down to does the phrase as it appears in the APG mean an Eidelon is simply a summoned monster.
"A summoner can summon his eidolon in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform. "

Ornery Hobbit |
as a GM and player for 20+ years genernaly its better that they go on the players turn that controls them, for table time manegment. but for tatacts you can move them around the order if you wish by delaying their actions. as said above their first turn is right when your done casting tho.
Are you talking here solely about summoned creatures as in SM1 or SNA1 or are you also speaking of Eidolons, Familiars and Animal Companions?
Thanks

dunelord3001 |

Eidolons are summoned creatures.
Eidolon
A summoner begins play with the ability to summon to his side a powerful outsider called an eidolon. The eidolon forms a link with the summoner, who, forever after, summons an aspect of the same creature. An eidolon has the same alignment as the summoner that calls it and can speak all of his languages. Eidolons are treated as summoned creatures, except that they are not sent back to their home plane until reduced to a number of negative hit points equal to or greater than their Constitution score. In addition, due to its tie to its summoner, an eidolon can touch and attack creatures warded by protection from evil and similar effects that prevent contact with summoned creatures.

Ornery Hobbit |
yea OH or HH who ever you are.
IMHO I think its best for everything a player controls to go on the same INT. but Tatics may dicktate some delaying or what not... Its a game have fun, just dont take away from someone elses fun time. take your turn and go around the table.
Thanks, sorry for the name confusion, been wanting to change it for a while.

Ornery Hobbit |
OH/ HH i just thought you were trying to be sneaky... lol i thought orney hobbit is a great name and i clicked to see your profile...
is there a consensence on this issue about inti (Bump...)
Was inspired by Keburil Kotsbottle - Tough talkin' tobacco chewin' Halfling Ranger and Rancher
"Y'all cross me," spits "Y'all best better have yer affairs in order."

james maissen |
I've always been told that summoned creatures go on their summoners (small s) INI. Yes? No?
HH
It depends on whether the summoned creatures were already summoned prior to combat & initiative being rolled.
Now most DMs have companions go on their master's initiative, but there's little support for this to be true (that I'm aware of).
If the creature is summoned during combat then its initiative is exactly right before that of the summoner. They do not share initiatives, but rather the summon acts immediately, the summoner (if they have actions left/its their turn) finishes their turn and subsequent rounds the summoned creature will go before the summoner's turn.
-James

dunelord3001 |

It depends on whether the summoned creatures were already summoned prior to combat & initiative being rolled.
Now most DMs have companions go on their master's initiative, but there's little support for this to be true (that I'm aware of).
This seems to be incorrect. RAW and seemingly RAI indicated that summoned creatures always act directly before their summoner, even regardless of changes in the summoner's initiative. Virtually all versions of the Summon Whatever spell have a summoned creature act directly before the summoner (one who brought them into being, not the class). They either state this or reference back to working the same as spells that state this. See below.
Summon Monster
Summon Nature's Ally
Most of the other summon spells just reference these. Summon Infernal Host, Summon Accuser, and Summon Minor Monster all do.
The only spells that seem to be vague are Summon Ancestral Guardian, Summon Flight of Eagles, and Summon Swarm. However those spells don't provide any information that contradicts the above, nor are they mention by the Eidolon class feature.
Summon Ancestral Guardian
Summon Flight of Eagles
Summon Swarm

james maissen |
james maissen wrote:This seems to be incorrect. RAW and seemingly RAI indicated that summoned creatures always act directly before their summoner, even regardless of changes in the summoner's initiative.It depends on whether the summoned creatures were already summoned prior to combat & initiative being rolled.
Now most DMs have companions go on their master's initiative, but there's little support for this to be true (that I'm aware of).
The spells are assuming that the caster is in initiative already, and in fact any reasonable reading of that line will support this claim.
If the summoner has perished or otherwise denied a turn in the initiative the summons do not wink out or not continue to act (especially if directed via proper communication), so I don't see support for this to be taken as far as you seem to want to take it.
Summoned creatures act immediately when summoned, but if there is no combat occurring at this point then the summoner has no turn in the initiative as there is no initiative at all. The summons can still act and be directed, or do you contend that the creatures can only act during combats?
If the summons more ahead they could enter into a combat of which the summoner (who may have even teleported away) is completely unaware. Yet the summons can still act, can't they?
Sorry what you are trying to squeeze into the wording here doesn't pass muster,
James

Some call me Tim |

Well, technically they can never share the exact same initiative.
Generally, non-intelligent companions will need to commanded what to do. Which generally require that the master command them to do something. This would often result in them taking turns one after the other anyway.
From an ease of use standpoint, it is best to have them act together. However, I NEVER let this dictate that they HAVE to have the same initiative. For example, ordering a companion to defend will have it react to obvious attacks on its own initiative even if the master is flat-footed. Ordering it to attack, may have unintended consequences if the princess you happen to be looking to save finds you first.
Now, as we go up the evolutionary ladder so to speak, intelligent companions could act on their own. This comes down to the play style of the group on whether companions are treated more as NPCs or absolute automatons.
At my table, if you haven't given them specific direction and want them to act on their own. I, as GM (or another play I designate), gets to control them. This doesn't mean I have them wander aimlessly, but neither do they get the benefit of an omniscient link that they know the entire details of your tactical plan.