Will Cloudkill automatically kill a swarm?


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 135 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
DrDeth wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
...Was that even in contention in the first place?
Was what???
The stuff about alchemist's fire and swarms; didn't see that anywhere in the thread, so it seemed odd to bring it up.
Yes, it's quite odd for these discussions to go off topic.

I know, right?! What is this, the internet?

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

It can't be the internet. Everybody's wearing clothes and there are only a few misspelled words!

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Lincoln Hills wrote:
It can't be the internet. The people have clothes and there are only a few misspelled words!

You assume I am wearing clothes.


Nefreet wrote:

I hear people argue this all the time, and I still fail to understand their reasoning.

You toss an Alchemist Fire at a Swarm. You hit its touch AC. You roll 1d6, and add 50%.

When people claim it's only 1pt, and that +50% still makes it 1pt, it makes me sad.

My brain cannot fathom that level of pedantry.

In PF//D&D you always round down. Basically you either get to the number you want or it goes down to the lower number.

As an example if you could get to 1.99 it would count as 1, not 2.

That is how the rules work so it is RAI not just people trying to be picky.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

wraithstrike wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

I hear people argue this all the time, and I still fail to understand their reasoning.

You toss an Alchemist Fire at a Swarm. You hit its touch AC. You roll 1d6, and add 50%.

When people claim it's only 1pt, and that +50% still makes it 1pt, it makes me sad.

My brain cannot fathom that level of pedantry.

In PF//D&D you always round down. Basically you either get to the number you want or it goes down to the lower number.

As an example if you could get to 1.99 it would count as 1, not 2.

That is how the rules work so it is RAI not just people trying to be picky.

I don't think you read his post very carefully.


Nefreet wrote:

I hear people argue this all the time, and I still fail to understand their reasoning.

You toss an Alchemist Fire at a Swarm. You hit its touch AC. You roll 1d6, and add 50%.

When people claim it's only 1pt, and that +50% still makes it 1pt, it makes me sad.

You're wrong. Swarms are immune to effects that target a single creature. They only take 50% extra splash damage. The direct hit damage is not splash damage. That is 100% clear in the rules. It might make you sad, but it is obviously intended.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
it is obviously intended.

So when they intended for splash weapons to always deal exactly 1 point of damage to a swarm no matter what, they chose to communicate that intent by writing "A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from .... splash weapons"?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

It does say from "splash weapons", not "splash damage" so the 1d6 should apply.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

I hear people argue this all the time, and I still fail to understand their reasoning.

You toss an Alchemist Fire at a Swarm. You hit its touch AC. You roll 1d6, and add 50%.

When people claim it's only 1pt, and that +50% still makes it 1pt, it makes me sad.

My brain cannot fathom that level of pedantry.

You're wrong. Swarms are immune to effects that target a single creature. They only take 50% extra splash damage. The direct hit damage is not splash damage. That is 100% clear in the rules. It might make you sad, but it is obviously intended.

BRAIN HURT!


wraithstrike wrote:
It does say from "splash weapons", not "splash damage" so the 1d6 should apply.
Here is what it says :
Quote:
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.

The direct hit damage obviously does not target an area. Thus the 50% extra damage only applies to the splash damage.

And just before that it states swarms are immune to the direct hit damage part:

Quote:
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate),

And there are ways and splash weapons that do more than 1 splash damage. The text was obviously accounting for those.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

5 people marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
And there are ways and splash weapons that do more than 1 splash damage. The text was obviously accounting for those.

Can you give an example that existed when the swarm rules were written? Because I'm not aware of any.


Rikkan wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
It does say from "splash weapons", not "splash damage" so the 1d6 should apply.
Here is what it says :
Quote:
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.

It does not say splash damage from a splash weapon. It says the splash weapon, which includes the weapon in its entirety.


Jiggy wrote:
Rikkan wrote:
And there are ways and splash weapons that do more than 1 splash damage. The text was obviously accounting for those.
Can you give an example that existed when the swarm rules were written? Because I'm not aware of any.

I was just about to ask about this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
It does say from "splash weapons", not "splash damage" so the 1d6 should apply.
Here is what it says :
Quote:
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
The direct hit damage obviously does not target an area. Thus the 50% extra damage only applies to the splash damage.

The ability says they take +50% damage from "effects that affect an area". It further specifies what constitutes an "effect that affect an area" by exemplifying with splash weapons.

Thus, a splash weapon is an effect that affects an area, and thus affects the centipede, dealing 1.5*1d6 damage.

The ability does not differentiate between different parts of the splash weapon. The splash weapon as a whole is defined as a single effect.

There, solved. RAW and RAI match and works very well and elegantly.


Gaberlunzie wrote:
Rikkan wrote:
Here is what it says :
Quote:
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.
The direct hit damage obviously does not target an area. Thus the 50% extra damage only applies to the splash damage.

The ability says they take +50% damage from "effects that affect an area". It further specifies what constitutes an "effect that affect an area" by exemplifying with splash weapons.

Thus, a splash weapon is an effect that affects an area, and thus affects the centipede, dealing 1.5*1d6 damage.

The ability does not differentiate between different parts of the splash weapon. The splash weapon as a whole is defined as a single effect.

There, solved. RAW and RAI match and works very well and elegantly.

That is not what the rules say. Splash weapons have a single target component (the direct hit damage) and an area component (the splash damage). That is how splash weapons work.

For example, if you have point blank shot, you'd add 1 damage to your direct hit damage, but you wouldn't add anything to your splash damage.

Jiggy wrote:
Can you give an example that existed when the swarm rules were written? Because I'm not aware of any.

Not 100% certain of the timeline here. But the swarm rules were introduced in 3.0, right? I know there are some splash weapons in 3.0 that do more than 1 splash damage, if that is what you mean.


Rikkan wrote:
I know there are some splash weapons in 3.0 that do more than 1 splash damage, if that is what you mean.

None before the rules were written.

I agree with Gaberlunzie, but others do not.


DrDeth wrote:
Rikkan wrote:
I know there are some splash weapons in 3.0 that do more than 1 splash damage, if that is what you mean.

None before the rules were written.

I agree with Gaberlunzie, but others do not.

Well, in OD&D hand grenades did 5-20 damage. But I'm assuming those don't count. When were the swarm rules introduced again, exactly?

And you can make new houserules that agree with Gaberlunzie, sure. But that is not what the rules currently say. The rules are crystal clear in explaining there is a difference between the direct hit damage and the splash damage.

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
That is not what the rules say. Splash weapons have a single target component (the direct hit damage) and an area component (the splash damage). That is how splash weapons work.

However, the direct hit damage is still damage from a splash weapon, which affects an area, and thus receives the +50% damage against swarms.

Throw Splash Weapon wrote:
A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target.

The swarm rules do not say 'splash damage' it says 'splash weapons'.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
However, the direct hit damage is still damage from a splash weapon, which affects an area,

The direct hit damage requires you to target a single target and hit is with a touch attack to deal damage to that single target. Just like a slashing weapon, or acid splash it might affect a larger part of a creature than a single puncture wound would do, but it is still considered an effect that targets a single creature; making swarms immune to it.

The splash damage part of it does do area damage though.

Grand Lodge

Rikkan wrote:
The direct hit damage requires you to target a single target

And the swarm is a single target for attacks that target AC. So it can take the direct hit damage.

Quote:
A swarm has a single pool of Hit Dice and hit points, a single initiative modifier, a single speed, and a single Armor Class.
Quote:
A swarm takes half again as much damage (+50%) from spells or effects that affect an area, such as splash weapons and many evocation spells.

So the direct hit damage of a splash weapon deals +50% more to a swarm.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Rikkan wrote:
The direct hit damage requires you to target a single target
And the swarm is a single target for attacks that target AC. So it can take the direct hit damage.
It can't.
Quote:
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate),

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Then why have a single Armor Class if it can't be targeted? If you include the direct hit damage in 'effects that target a specific number of creatures' why not ALL weapon damage? Even the fighter swinging his sword at a swarm of tiny creatures?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
The rules are crystal clear in explaining there is a difference between the direct hit damage and the splash damage.

Given that everybody else in the thread disagrees with you and given that alchemists fire definitely does not work the way you think it does in PFS (which is far more RAW than almost any other campaign) to state that it is "Crystal clear" that you are right and everybody else is wrong is, to quote another poster in this thread, the height of hubris.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
Then why have a single Armor Class if it can't be targeted?

Because Armour Class may still be relevant in some cases. Like say attacking a swarm consisting of tiny creatures or attacking a swarm while wielding a swarmbane clasp.

pauljathome wrote:
Given that everybody else in the thread disagrees with you and given that alchemists fire definitely does not work the way you think it does in PFS (which is far more RAW than almost any other campaign) to state that it is "Crystal clear" that you are right and everybody else is wrong is, to quote another poster in this thread, the height of hubris.

Trying to insult me, so you don't have to argue from the basis of the rules is in poor form.

But here, an FAQ
faq core rulebook wrote:

Point Blank Shot: Do I add the feat's extra damage to the splash damage from a splash weapon?

No, the extra damage from Point Blank Shot only applies to the target of a direct hit with a splash weapon (including direct hits from an alchemist's bomb).

It clearly show there is a difference between the splash damage and the direct hit damage.

Sczarni

If a swarm can be hit with a sword, what makes you think it can't be hit directly with a splash weapon?


Nefreet wrote:
If a swarm can be hit with a sword, what makes you think it can't be hit directly with a splash weapon?
This part of the swarm rules
Quote:
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate),

Sczarni

3 people marked this as a favorite.

And a sword isn't an effect that targets a specific number of creatures?

Silver Crusade

Rikkan wrote:


pauljathome wrote:
Given that everybody else in the thread disagrees with you and given that alchemists fire definitely does not work the way you think it does in PFS (which is far more RAW than almost any other campaign) to state that it is "Crystal clear" that you are right and everybody else is wrong is, to quote another poster in this thread, the height of hubris.

Trying to insult me, so you don't have to argue from the basis of the rules is in poor form.

I've got nothing to add to the other arguments pointing out the flaws in your position.

All I wanted to point out is that you are self evidently incorrect when you state that it is "crystal clear" that you are right.

I should have done that more politely and I will apologize for that rudeness.


RigaMortus wrote:

It says it kills creatures whose HD is lower than 3...

Assume a Crab Swarm, which is a 7 HD creature... But individually the crabs can't be more than 3 HD...

The wording on Cloudkill specifies creatures that are in it, a swarm is made up of individual creatures... So how would this be ruled?

By RAW, no. A Cloudkill cannot auto kill a 7 HD anything. The Swarm lives by virtue of being a 7 HD creature in of itself. Now Game Masters are free to adjust the rules as they see fit or even flavor the effects of the Cloudkill on the swarm as killing hundreds of the crabs so that the caster knows his spell is having an effect. If you are the GM then feel free to take the suggestions everyone has submitted under advisement.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

So . . . did anybody get around to explaining why a cloudkill should affect each creature individually but a fireball shouldn't?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
blahpers wrote:
So . . . did anybody get around to explaining why a cloudkill should affect each creature individually but a fireball shouldn't?

No, because that would require logic, and I'm sorry but we're all out of that here.


Cloudkill doesn't affect each creature individually, as mentioned before, a Swarm is a single creature. It may be made up of many creatures but you are fighting it not the 1,000 component pieces. Cloudkill, in the example provided, would whittle down the Con of the swarm until at con 0 the swarm dies. This is why attributes are included in the pre statted swarms.


I hereby throw into the ring that a swarm is immune to fireball since fireball affects a specific amount of creatures (specifically what can fit in it's area of effect)

Grand Lodge

So wouldn't that make them immune to cloudkill as well? (what can fit into the area of effect)

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.

In fairness to the original poster, the swarm rules really make very little sense from a realism point of view. And they make even less sense for cloudkill than they do for fireball or chanelling negative energy or whatnot.

Personally, I think that allowing cloudkill to just destroy a swarm is a perfectly reasonable house rule. But it IS a house rule.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, I'm mostly just watching the hornets swarm.


kikidmonkey wrote:
I hereby throw into the ring that a swarm is immune to fireball since fireball affects a specific amount of creatures (specifically what can fit in it's area of effect)

The swarm as a whole is considered one creature by the rules. The rules even say to use the swarm stats for the purpose of affects.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Wraithstrike apparently has zero ranks in Sense Sarcasm.


Nefreet wrote:
And a sword isn't an effect that targets a specific number of creatures?

Correct. Thus a tiny swarm would not be immune to a sword attack (only does half damage). While it would be immune to the direct hit damage of say an acid flask.

Sovereign Court

RigaMortus wrote:

It says it kills creatures whose HD is lower than 3...

Assume a Crab Swarm, which is a 7 HD creature... But individually the crabs can't be more than 3 HD...

The wording on Cloudkill specifies creatures that are in it, a swarm is made up of individual creatures... So how would this be ruled?

What works for the goose works for the gander, IMO. If cloudkill covers the entire swarm, IMO it would auto-kill the swarm. Swarm rules also dictate that the swarms share a pool of HD... so yeah.

People appealing to PFS as a rules authority... um. Honestly I've seen a lot of stuff get hand-waived in society. And a lot of things are banned outright, such as item creation feats.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Rikkan wrote:
Thus a tiny swarm would not be immune to a sword attack (only does half damage). While it would be immune to the direct hit damage of say an acid flask.

Except tiny swarms aren't immune to the direct damage of the splash weapon because they don't have immunity to weapon damage, they just take half from piercing or slashing. If the direct hit damage was specified as slashing or piercing, then they take half. Else they take full, whether it is fire, bludgeoning, or force damage.

Swords and alchemical fire both make an attack roll, if the sword doesn't affect a specific number of creatures with its attack, neither does the splash weapon with its own.


KuntaSS wrote:

Except tiny swarms aren't immune to the direct damage of the splash weapon because they don't have immunity to weapon damage, they just take half from piercing or slashing. If the direct hit damage was specified as slashing or piercing, then they take half. Else they take full, whether it is fire, bludgeoning, or force damage.

Swords and alchemical fire both make an attack roll, if the sword doesn't affect a specific number of creatures with its attack, neither does the splash weapon with its own.

Disintegrate is also a ray (weapon) for which you have to make an attack roll that targets touch armour class. Yet just like alchemical fire, swarms are immune to it because of:
Quote:
A swarm is immune to any spell or effect that targets a specific number of creatures (including single-target spells such as disintegrate),
While a attacking a swarm consisting of tiny creatures with a sword use this part of the swarm rules:
Quote:
A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nzBaljEHj8

I found this on Google, I'm sure it is relevant somehow. Safe for work.


I guess the rules team has not seen Wanted.

If you can

Spoiler:
shoot the wings off a fly with a bullet
you can slice one in half with a sword!

51 to 100 of 135 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Will Cloudkill automatically kill a swarm? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.