Reach Spell and Communal Touch


Rules Questions


I was wondering if there was a clear ruling on how Reach Spell interacts with spells with a target descriptor of "creatures touched," such as Resist Energy, Communal.

The Reach Spell feat (or Rod) would increase the range from Touch to Close, but would this casting require actions like a touch spell, in that you can touch up to 6 creatures with a full round action using separate rays, or would it act more like Haste (another Close range communal buff) and just affect the creatures within a burst radius?

Personally, I lean more towards the latter, but as the caster of this spell, I have a bias. My hesitancy with the former is that you can hold charges of a touch spell, but so far as I know you cannot do so with any Close range spells.


Well since it is no longer a "touch" spell those rules would not apply. You would just need for everyone to be in the "close" range of the spell.

By changing the range to close you lose the ability to hold the charge so something is lost, but at the same time, if your friends need protection you won't likely be holding the charge anyway.

PS: I don't have the text in front of me, but if it says "close" and not "Ranged touched attack", then there are not rays(which use the ranged touch mechanic).


So, Wraith, you would play it like a burst centered in the caster?


Non-Lethal for Ransom wrote:
So, Wraith, you would play it like a burst centered in the caster?

Something like that, but since "burst" is a specific game term I will say that each target that is within the "close" range of my caster can be targeted. <----I know what you mean, but I don't want to confuse anyone who may read this later, so I am being more precise with my words. However the ability to hold the charge would not be there.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach Spell and Communal Touch All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.