3 Rend Questions


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Rend:
If it hits with two or more natural attacks in 1 round, a creature with the rend special attack can cause tremendous damage by latching onto the opponent’s body and tearing flesh. This attack deals an additional amount of damage, but no more than once per round. The type of attacks that must hit and the additional damage are included in the creature’s description. The additional damage is usually equal to the damage caused by one of the attacks plus 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus.

1. Do AoO count towards the number of hits needed to rend? The rule says you count hits in 1 round, not hits on your turn, but this adds bookkeeping.

2. Are Eidolons exceptions to the general rule that you can only rend once per round? The description of rend under eidolons has markedly different wording from that in universal monster rules, omitting the phrase "no more than once per round" and using "whenever the eidolon makes two successful claw attacks" instead of "If it hits with two or more..." which could be interpreted as "when the eidolon hits with two claw attacks it rends, and then when it hits with another two claw attacks it rends again."

Eidolon Rend:
An eidolon learns to rip and tear the flesh of those it attacks with its claws, gaining the rend ability. Whenever the eidolon makes two successful claw attacks against the same target in 1 round, its claws latch onto the flesh and deal extra damage. This damage is equal to the damage dealt by one claw attack plus 1-1/2 times the eidolon’s Strength modifier. The eidolon must possess the claws evolution to select this evolution. The summoner must be at least 6th level before selecting this evolution.

3. Does Rending Fury give you a separate instance of Rend that stacks with the usual one? The feat says "you can only make this rend attack once per round," which could be read in this fashion (instead of "You can still only rend once per round").

Rending Fury:
Benefit: You deal rend damage if you hit with half the normal natural attacks your rend requires.

For example, a troll that has this feat can rend when it hits with one claw attack, while a girallon that has this feat must hit one target with two claw attacks to rend. You can only make this rend attack once per round.

Shadow Lodge

Any answers or do I make a call as GM?


I've had no luck FAQing #2 in the past, but there is a quote from the playtest from Jason Buhlman that says "No, it's once a round".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 3 Rend Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions