new to the game


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi all, my wife and I are new to the game and we played Brigadoon which we got through ok .. but a question came up and i could not find the answer .. unless i did not look hard enough :)

so the question is .. if both of us are at a location and one of us explores and turns up a monster etc.. can we both attack it? if say my wife attacked and failed - could i then attack before the damage is dealt to my wife - or before the monster would be shuffled back into the location ?

thank you for responding


psoord wrote:

Hi all, my wife and I are new to the game and we played Brigadoon which we got through ok .. but a question came up and i could not find the answer .. unless i did not look hard enough :)

so the question is .. if both of us are at a location and one of us explores and turns up a monster etc.. can we both attack it? if say my wife attacked and failed - could i then attack before the damage is dealt to my wife - or before the monster would be shuffled back into the location ?

thank you for responding

Whoever's turn it is encounters the monster. The other character can not attempt to defeat the monster. The second character can play cards to help (like a blessing or an ally) or use a power (like Valeros or Lem) but they can't encounter that monster for the character's whose turn it.

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:
No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Sajan encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Kyra encounters a Ghoul, Seoni can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Amiri encounters a Battered Chest, Lini cannot use Thieves’ Tools against it. If Valeros encounters a Spyglass, Harsk can’t attempt the check to acquire it. If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it.

On your turn, you explore, you encounter the explored card, and you deal with that encounter.

If a card has multiple checks separated by an "THEN" then another character at that location can attempt one of the checks, but the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks.

Rulebook v3 p11 wrote:
Only the character who encounters the card may attempt the check, with one exception: if a card requires sequential checks, the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks, but other checks may each be attempted by any one character at the same location.

And welcome to PACG. Happy adventuring.


Only the active character may resolve the encounter. If a single card requires multiple checks, the active character must perform at least one of them, and others at the location can attempt any remaining.


ah thank you guys for the fast response and the warm welcome :) this info definatley helps i wasnt sure how to work that situation

thank you again :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / new to the game All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion