evilaustintom
|
Cavalier's Order of the Dragon, allows you to aid an ally's saving throw.
Bodyguard allows you to aid an ally's AC, and specifically NOT his attack roll.
So could a cavalier use the Bodyguard feat to aid an adjacent ally's saving throw?
They're both pretty specific (in the whole 'Specific>General' argument), so what do you think, and why?
| Darksol the Painbringer |
RAW, no you cannot.
Bodyguard specifically spells out that you can only use it when they are attacked; the parameters are not specifically defined, and whether being affected by a spell or other effect is counted as being attacked (for the purposes of Invisibility, it is,) is clear or not, is nothing certain. Both Invisibility rules and "Attack Rolls Required" are fairly common interpretations to involve, though neither one is technically correct.
In addition, the proxy for Bodyguard only allows you to aid AC at the expense of an AoO if an ally within melee reach is being attacked. It's fairly obvious that even if you can aid to Saving Throws (a very powerful ability, if I might add), it was not designed to work with the intent of Bodyguard. It's also a very powerful thing to allow, if the character has enough Dexterity to pull it off. In a low point-buy game, I'd allow it as a GM. In a high point-buy game, I'd probably not allow it, since higher overall statistics are prevalent, and sinking a lot into Dexterity means almost complete coverage against all attacks.
So there are two things that go against allowing what you're looking to do. However, there are other methods to go about this; you can aid in 3 manners: the Bodyguard Feat, the standard Aid Another, and the very undervalued Swift Aid feat.
The Bodyguard feat can work against all attacks being made against an ally, the intent not requiring you to threaten an enemy. (This is how our game runs Aid Another for AC anyway, though it is still a standard action by normal means.)
The standard Aid Another is self-explanatory and already shown in the Core Rulebook.
The Swift Aid feat allows you to use the Aid Another as a Swift Action, though the target only receives half of the usual benefits.
One could use the Standard Aid Another to Hit and the Swift Aid to Saves (or vice-versa), allowing the Bodyguard feat to aid AC outside your turn.