Arcane Archer / Imbue Arrow and "Area Spells"


Rules Questions


According to http://paizo.com/prd/prestigeClasses/arcaneArcher.html, at 2nd level arcane archers gain the ability to:

Imbue Arrow (Su): At 2nd level, an arcane archer gains the ability to place an area spell upon an arrow. When the arrow is fired, the spell's area is centered where the arrow lands, even if the spell could normally be centered only on the caster. This ability allows the archer to use the bow's range rather than the spell's range. A spell cast in this way uses its standard casting time and the arcane archer can fire the arrow as part of the casting. The arrow must be fired during the round that the casting is completed or the spell is wasted. If the arrow misses, the spell is wasted.

My question is this:

What exactly is an "area spell?"

At first glance, the implication seems to be that only spells that can take up space such as "fireball" or "color spray" are included. Is this correct?

Do rays count as "area effect spells?"

Do spells such as "blindness" not count because they target?

Thanks for the clarification!


In the spell description, a spell has a Target(s), Effect or Area. These indicate what type of spell it is. If the spell has an Area descriptor, then it is an Area spell and can be used with Imbue Arrow.

EDIT: Rays are Effects and Blindness is a Targeted spell, so both of those could not be used.


Thanks Sniggevert!

What about the second level spell summon swarm?

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8

mcruggiero wrote:
What about the second level spell summon swarm?

It says "Effect one swarm of bats, rats, or spiders" so no.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Archer / Imbue Arrow and "Area Spells" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.