Could Alter Self hide gear?


Rules Questions


I have a character I'm creating that will be able to cast Alter Self. When I assume a new form, can I choose to have the gear become melded or hidden even if it's a humanoid form?


Polymorph wrote:

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body.

Sorry, humanoid isn't on the list.


Yeah, but that's not quite the question. The gear automatically merges, even if you don't want it to, in non-humanoid forms. But what if you wanted it to meld and become unusable? Is that an option?

... I have no idea.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The spell does exactly what it says. You can't choose for your gear to meld with alter self, just like you can't choose for it not to meld with beast shape.


Wait... does this mean that if you turn into an ooze, you still have your gear?

I suppose it floats around inside your ooze form.


seebs wrote:

Yeah, but that's not quite the question. The gear automatically merges, even if you don't want it to, in non-humanoid forms. But what if you wanted it to meld and become unusable? Is that an option?

... I have no idea.

Can you voluntarily have your gear meld into you when you cast Mage Armor? No? Then why would Alter Self do that?

Sovereign Court

Umbral Reaver wrote:

Wait... does this mean that if you turn into an ooze, you still have your gear?

I suppose it floats around inside your ooze form.

Likewise if you're turned into an aberration by a witch with the Abominate Grand Hex.


Davick wrote:
seebs wrote:

Yeah, but that's not quite the question. The gear automatically merges, even if you don't want it to, in non-humanoid forms. But what if you wanted it to meld and become unusable? Is that an option?

... I have no idea.

Can you voluntarily have your gear meld into you when you cast Mage Armor? No? Then why would Alter Self do that?

Because it's a polymorph spell. And as noted, there are types not-listed, does that imply that those types never meld gear either?

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
seebs wrote:
Davick wrote:
seebs wrote:

Yeah, but that's not quite the question. The gear automatically merges, even if you don't want it to, in non-humanoid forms. But what if you wanted it to meld and become unusable? Is that an option?

... I have no idea.

Can you voluntarily have your gear meld into you when you cast Mage Armor? No? Then why would Alter Self do that?
Because it's a polymorph spell. And as noted, there are types not-listed, does that imply that those types never meld gear either?

The types not listed are types that a) have no associated polymorph spell or b) are intended to let the caster maintain their gear (ie, monstrous physique and undead anatomy). Again, the polymorph rules are very explicit in their function. Polymorph spells provide exactly the benefits listed; no more, no less.


On a similar note, can alter self change the appearance of your gear? Or is your 'disguised' version stuck with the same clothes and equipment?


It is clear that if you are humanoid, Alter Self neither hides nor changes your gear, because it never says it does.


Umbral Reaver wrote:

Wait... does this mean that if you turn into an ooze, you still have your gear?

I suppose it floats around inside your ooze form.

1) When the polymorph rules was written, there was no way of becoming an ooze.

2) But it is covered by GM adjudication on whether the form is unlike your original form. That is most likely the case with oozes.

Polymorph wrote:


...

Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Could Alter Self hide gear? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.