
![]() ![]() |

This is especially true if you are in Absalom, in the Grand Lodge. It should be safe to assume that the resources of the Pathfinder Society there would grant you access to just about any spell. The same nay not be true if you are out on a mission, though.
Of course, to get the spell, you'll need to spend the +50% AND listen to Aram Zey berate you for not already knowing such an all-important spell (or berate you for wanting such a useless spell... He's an equal opportunity pathfinder berater!)
Where can this info be found? I'm still rather new to PFS organized play...

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Silbeg wrote:Where can this info be found? I'm still rather new to PFS organized play...This is especially true if you are in Absalom, in the Grand Lodge. It should be safe to assume that the resources of the Pathfinder Society there would grant you access to just about any spell. The same nay not be true if you are out on a mission, though.
Of course, to get the spell, you'll need to spend the +50% AND listen to Aram Zey berate you for not already knowing such an all-important spell (or berate you for wanting such a useless spell... He's an equal opportunity pathfinder berater!)
the PFS FAQ is Here ...(and the FAQ just got a lot harder to find on google for some reason)
In the rare instance of a wizard charging a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks, this fee is equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells do not change the fee in PFS.
Which is much more understandable in Character terms. Your character pays half the scribing costs to borrow someone eleses spellbook, pays the price for scribing, and adds the spell to his spellbook (probably taking 10 for auto success) Who you pay (Aram Zey for example) is just flavor.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Information on Aram Zey? Hes a VC who operates out of the Grand Lodge in Absalom. He hates when anyone bar him touches the Hao Jin Tapestry. More information can be found on him in several scenarios and a splatbook which name escapes me.
If you are instead referring to the Grand Lodge having every spell there would still be limits ie Nothing 7+ would be available. As there are now thousands of Pathfinders, with many Wizards amongst their number the Grand Lodge would likely be the receptacle for the majority of spell knowledge. The 50 percent (half of scribing cost) to get access to the spell is established in the Pathfinder rulebooks about negotiating a price with npc wizards for spell access. The scribing cost can be found in the core rulebook.

![]() ![]() |

the PFS FAQ is Here ...(and the FAQ just got a lot harder to find on google for some reason)
In the rare instance of a wizard charging a fee for the privilege of copying spells from their spellbooks, this fee is equal to half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook (see Writing a New Spell into a Spellbook). Rare and unique spells do not change the fee in PFS.
Which is much more understandable in Character terms. Your character pays half the scribing costs to borrow someone eleses spellbook, pays the price for scribing, and adds the spell to his spellbook (probably taking 10 for auto success) Who you pay (Aram Zey for example) is just flavor.
Thanks, just wanted to be able to tell my GM where he can look should a question arise. :)

![]() ![]() |

That phrase, "In the rare instance" is supposed to be changed to "To access an NPC Wizard's spellbook, you would pay half the scribing cost for the spell involved."
I think this is well understood by now, but the question I have is, do you need to have a minimal level of fame (5+) to access npc wizard spellbooks? Fame less than 5 says you get 0gp access, but level 0 and 1 spell scrolls are always available. Even the minimal access cost is greater than the 0gp listed for less than 5 fame, so it would stand to reason, to me at least, that you would need fame 5+ to be able to access the npc's spellbooks. Am I over thinking this or does this fall under "always available"?

![]() |
I had this same question when I first started my wizard, and after checking with 3 different GM's in my area; all of them said it would fall under "always available". I think that's how most areas are doing it now...
Additionally, per p.22 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play, "Beyond the gear noted above, your character is restricted to purchasing additional items from his accumulated Chronicle sheets, or by capitalizing on his fame." Which means all items listed on the always available list (including level 0&1 scrolls) do not have the fame restriction and can be purchased by characters with less than 5 fame.
The main thing is that as a player, just make sure to track your scribed spell purchases correctly; listing out the name of each spell scribed. And make sure to note them as scribed vs scrolls due to the cost difference. Your GM(s) will thank you. :)
Honestly, I think a big part of the whole standardizing/allowing better access to NPC's for scribing was to alleviate GM tracking headaches; by making GM's not have to dig through adventures to find a NPC caster's scribed spells (which are rarely/never listed on chronicle sheets). It also helped balance the gp gap between areas where caster characters are abundant and got spells copied for free vs areas where caster characters are rare and players in those areas had to pay full scroll price just to add a spell to their spellbook.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Aspasia: Again, look at it a different way. You arnt neccesarily purchasing from the Pathfinder Lodge library. As your fame isnt neccesarily to the Pathfinder Society (in so much that you might be working for Osirion or Qadira) etc, that fame represents connections you might have outside of the society. You might know someone who knows someone who casts spells at a high level, you would thus use them.
If you are Grand Lodge, then yeah its likely you would talk to Aram and co. Im sure Zarta will know a diabolist (or demoniac) you could borrow a spellbook or two from.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Just trying to cover my bases should a question arise with my GM. The point is mostly moot for the wizard I play in Society but I plan on making a magus soon so the issue might come up, thanks for the help. :)
The best response for safety, IMO, would be to treat 0th and 1st level spells as alaways available, but make sure you have the needed Fame for higher level spells not found from NPCs in the scenario or scribed from another PC's spellbook.
You won't need 2nd level spells available until you reach at least 3rd level, and they would become likely to be available when you get to 2nd level, Fame 5+.
And, after that, your Fame would allow purchasing access to non-open spells (7th-9th) long before you could ever hope to cast them. Heck, scribing cost for a 9th level spell is what, 810 gp? So access cost would be 405 gp. Even total, that would be a Fame score of only 13. But your PC would still need to be 17th level or higher to be able to do it.
Which is why so many of just ignore Fame for spellbook access. It would take more effort than it is worth, since it would only affect, sort of, 1st level casters.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I have a GM right now who is balking at allowing me to add spells to my spellbook for 1.5 times the scribing cost. What he's ruled is:
Hehe I can see what they are getting at, and I will allow...If you can find a willing NPC wizard to share his book (you gotta make him Friendly), then he will allow you to scribe it for an additional fee of 50% of the normal scribe cost. So, for a 3rd level spell....90gp scribe cost +45gp fee for being in my wizardly presence fee.
If the posts earlier in this thread are correct, the GM is violating the PFS rules by adding the requirement to find a NPC (which limits you to whoever's available in the scenario) and make him friendly. The FAQ says "in the rare case where wizards charge for them", and everybody here seems to be interpreting this to mean that since there would be such spells at the Pathfinder lodge, if you have enough Fame to purchase spells at the cost you'd have to pay, you can just buy any of them. However, that's not completely clear from the FAQ.
Can we get somebody from the campaign leadership to clarify that this is really the case? The fact that everybody else seems to agree to this doesn't look like enough for the GM. With this wizard character, I've already wasted a lot of money buying scrolls when I didn't have to, and I don't want to keep spending more money for spells than I need to. I need to know if this GM is violating the PFS rules. If so, I'll pull out of the game. If not, I'll suck it up. But, a post from campaign leadership making it clear, something I could link directly to, would help a lot.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I don't know that we need campaign leadership to come in and clarify.
The rule for PFS, is that to scribe a spell in your spellbook, the cost to "rent" an NPC's spellbook equals 1/2 the cost of scribing that particular spell into your book.
That's the rule. Any GM that wants to parse the language differently is flat out wrong.