Summoned Henchmen and closing locations


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If I summon a henchman card and defeat it. Do I still have the option to close the location?


You do not.

Updated Rulebook Page 13 wrote:
If the summoned card is a villain or henchman, defeating it does not allow you to close a location or win the scenario—ignore any such text on those cards.


For a little more detail: I keep this straight by remembering that the henchmen isn't part of the location. Therefore the henchmen can't grant you the ability to attempt to close "this" location because the henchmen doesn't have a location to affect.

Also there are two types of summoning actions. (1) Summoned encounters and (2) Summoned cards.

Summoned encounters are triggered by a card that says something to the effect of "summon and encounter a ...". It could be a specific henchman, a random monster, whatever. We might even see that we at some point are told to summon and encounter a random ally. The basic rule is that these always go back in the box after the encounter unless the summoning card, a location, scenario, or adventure card's rule would otherwise tell you that summoned encounters don't go back in the box (I don't know that this would ever actually happen, but the rule mechanics allow for it). The reason they go back in the box is because they aren't part of a location to be shuffled into if you fail the check. In the scenario "Them Ogres Ain't Right" there was some confusion because the scenario cards says to do something different with defeated henchmen. But the scenario card doesn't say that summoned cards don't return to the box after the encounter, so summoned henchmen still go back in the box and are not effected by the scenario's rule.

Summoned cards are typically triggered by another card telling you to draw a card (or cards) from the box and add it to a location (whether on top, bottom, or shuffled in if not otherwise specified) or to your hand. These are typically phrased as "draw an X from the box" in the case of boons or "add x to a location" in the case of banes. They could also technically go into your draw pile, bury pile, discard pile, the blessing deck or anywhere else the game allows. They go where ever the summoning card tells you to put them unless overridden by the location, scenario, or adventure card's rules.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
I keep this straight by remembering that the henchmen isn't part of the location. Therefore the henchmen can't grant you the ability to attempt to close "this" location because the henchmen doesn't have a location to affect.

This. This right here.

I think you've just articulated what I've been trying to say about summoned henchmen far better than I've been able to say it to date.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Hawkmoon269 wrote:

Also there are two types of summoning actions. (1) Summoned encounters and (2) Summoned cards.

Summoned encounters are triggered by a card that says something to the effect of "summon and encounter a ...". It could be a specific henchman, a random monster, whatever. We might even see that we at some point are told to summon and encounter a random ally. The basic rule is that these always go back in the box after the encounter unless the summoning card, a location, scenario, or adventure card's rule would otherwise tell you that summoned encounters don't go back in the box (I don't know that this would ever actually happen, but the rule mechanics allow for it). The reason they go back in the box is because they aren't part of a location to be shuffled into if you fail the check. In the scenario "Them Ogres Ain't Right" there was some confusion because the scenario cards says to do something different with defeated henchmen. But the scenario card doesn't say that summoned cards don't return to the box after the encounter, so summoned henchmen still go back in the box and are not effected by the scenario's rule.

Summoned cards are typically triggered by another card telling you to draw a card (or cards) from the box and add it to a location (whether on top, bottom, or shuffled in if not otherwise specified) or to your hand. These are typically phrased as "draw an X from the box" in the case of boons or "add x to a location" in the case of banes. They could also technically go into your draw pile, bury pile, discard pile, the blessing deck or anywhere else the game allows. They go where ever the summoning card tells you to put them unless overridden by the location, scenario, or adventure card's rules.

We use the word "summon" for only the first of those two things. For the second, we use the word "add." Adding is not summoning—it's a different thing, which is why it has a different name.


Vic Wertz wrote:
We use the word "summon" for only the first of those two things. For the second, we use the word "add." Adding is not summoning—it's a different thing, which is why it has a different name.

Ah yes. I over simplified the rulebook. They are in the same section, but it is in fact named "Summoning and Adding Cards."


I *really* think that the game would be simpler if you took that text off the henchman cards...

At the moment you have to remember that, when summoning a henchman, you have to ignore part of the text written on the card. This is a bit twisty since normally cards over-rule the rulebook.

If the text was not on the henchman cards then you'd just need to remember the 'normal' rules that when you defeat a henchman (from a location deck) you get a chance to close that location. Any henchmen that do not grant this (e.g. the night boa) can still say so explicitly on their cards.

Basically, I'm not sure what having the text on the henchmen cards achieves at the moment...


+100


Agree completely - the rulebook could just cover that sentence as part of when you encounter a henchman in a location.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Summoned Henchmen and closing locations All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion