Can I use a lasso to pull something with spider-climb off the ceiling?


Rules Questions


It came up...

-Nearyn


That would be houserule territory. I might go with a ranged touch attack to fling the lasso into place, followed by a Strength check (not sure what the DC would be), or a CMB roll vs the creature's CMD, to pull the creature from the ceiling.

That would likely take two turns, since it would be two standard actions, or the two actions could be performed by separate characters.


Lassos work just like Nets, so it depends on the GM, and how you read this line: "If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows."

1 - Some GMs might say that if you win the opposed check, you can reel the rope in, and force the target to be closer to you.

2 - Others will say that you make the check and the target can't move further than the initial point where you snagged it.

3 - Others still would say that option two is correct, but since you are not prevented from moving, you can move away and force the target to move with you to stay within the constraints of the rope.

I would be fine with any of these, but since the Drag maneuver came out after the Net, I would substitute a Drag Maneuver check for the opposed strength check, since it makes the most sense.


Are seems to have the right of it.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Make a drag or reposition maneuver check.

Drag wrote:
You can attempt to drag a foe as a standard action. You can only drag an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. The aim of this maneuver is to drag a foe in a straight line behind you without doing any [direct] harm.
Reposition wrote:
You can attempt to reposition a foe to a different location as a standard action. You can only reposition an opponent that is no more than one size category larger than you. A reposition attempts to force a foe to move to a different position in relation to your location without doing any [direct] harm.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can I use a lasso to pull something with spider-climb off the ceiling? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.