Diego Rossi
|
Creating Magic Armor
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the armor, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material components or focuses the spells require.
Same for Potions, Staffs, Wands.
But not Weapons, Wondrous items, Rods:
Creating Magic Weapons
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require.
Rings have a different text again:
Creating Rings
Rings that duplicate spells with costly material components add in the value of 50 × the spell's component cost. Having a spell with a costly component as a prerequisite does not automatically incur this cost.
So, apparently, if I want to make a scroll, armor or staff capable to cast a wish I need to find 1 or more 25K gp diamonds.
If I want to make a luckblade or a ring of three wishes I need undetermined materials to enchant the item worth 25.000 gp for each wish, but I don't need to find a 25K diamond for each wish that the item will be capable to cast.
It can make a serious difference in some campaign,
- * -
You can change the 25.000 gp diamond to a 5.000 gp one used for a staff of life if the idea of a staff casting wish is troublesome, the problem stay the same, why some item require you to procure the exact spell components and some other didn't?
- * -
Just to avoid confusion, the rules don't say that you don't have to spend the money to pay for the components, only that you don't need to procure the exact component required.
apparently when enchanting weapons or rings you can use substitute items with the same final value as the diamonds required by the spell.
| blahpers |
If I understand correctly, this isn't about the cost of crafting such items but whether that cost represents the actual material component or "unspecified materials" that cost the same, right?
I always got the impression that the designers don't really care much whether that wish is fueled by a 25,000 gp diamond or 25,000 gp worth of rutabagas. So that may be why it's worded that way.
Either that or it's a bug that made it through editing. The text is the same over at d20srd.org, so it'd be a pretty old bug.
| Belazoar |
Luckblades and Rings of Wishes appear, to me, to already include costs that would cover the casting of a Wish.
Potions, Staves, etc. that are basically items that you "load" with a spell requires costly components for the sake of simplification (I know, I know).
I'd rule that; no, you do not need the actual diamond when crafting items like luckblades or wish rings. Why? It lists construction costs, and diamond is not on the list. Also, it will cost you more resources to craft an item than it does to just cast wish. Sounds like a tradeoff.
Diego Rossi
|
If I understand correctly, this isn't about the cost of crafting such items but whether that cost represents the actual material component or "unspecified materials" that cost the same, right?
Exactly, the question was born from another thread, where one of the poster said that he would require the player to supply one or more 25K diamond when making a item based on the wish spell.
I checked what the rules say and noticed the discrepancy.I see reasons to require the specific material components and focuses for all the items that require you to actually have memorized the spell when you make them (staffs, wands, potions, scrolls).
Requiring them for making magical armors is a bit strange.