Enlarge person, Teifling asimar


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

this question has been gnawing at the groups me and my friend play in does enlarge person work on Tiefling or asimar if not then why not

Silver Crusade

OksebShogun wrote:
this question has been gnawing at the groups me and my friend play in does enlarge person work on Tiefling or asimar if not then why not

Enlarge Person (as well as Charm Person) does not work on them because they are Native Outsiders, not Humonoids.


No it doesn't, Enlarge Person only affects humanoids, tieflings and aasimars are outsiders

Shadow Lodge

14 sided die wrote:
No it doesn't, Enlarge Person only affects humanoids, tieflings and aasimars are outsiders

but they are half human?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
OksebShogun wrote:
14 sided die wrote:
No it doesn't, Enlarge Person only affects humanoids, tieflings and aasimars are outsiders
but they are half human?

The spells work based upon "type", a game mechanic.There are various types: humanoid, outsider, dragon, undead, etc.

Despite being part human their type is outsider rather than humanoid. Game mechanics. Charm person and enlarge person work on type: humanoid but not type: outsider.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yep, that's part of why in 3.0/3.5 D&D and even some Pathfinder GMs don't allow Teiflings/Aasiamars and other "planetouched" as a base race (requires a +1) because being immune to a whole slew of spells that only affect humanoids can be considered rather powerful.

Silver Crusade

Those spells will work on an aasimar with the Scion of Humanity alternate racial trait, because they count as both outsider (native) and humanoid (human).

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Taking the scion of humanity trait fixes this for aasimar. I'm sure a similar trait could be used for tieflings.


AbsolutGrndZer0 wrote:
Yep, that's part of why in 3.0/3.5 D&D and even some Pathfinder GMs don't allow Teiflings/Aasiamars and other "planetouched" as a base race (requires a +1) because being immune to a whole slew of spells that only affect humanoids can be considered rather powerful.

In 3.5 there was also an option to change their type so that they could be affected by those spells, and it would also reduce their LA to +0. Being an outsider has its perks!(and downsides)


No spell with "person" as target can effect outsiders. Native or otherwise. Thus aasimars and tieflings cannot be effected,as has been noted before. Spells that doesn't work of the top of my head:
Enlarge Person
Charm Person
Hold Person
Dominate Person

There are probably lots of others that I've forgotten about.

Shadow Lodge

Yeah, it doesn't work with outsiders, because it says it works on humanoids. It also gives immunities to dominate/hold person which means Angelkin Bloodragers (with the new ACG) or Fighters don't have to be as paranoid about will saves

Silver Crusade

ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Yeah, it doesn't work with outsiders, because it says it works on humanoids. It also gives immunities to dominate/hold person which means Angelkin Bloodragers (with the new ACG) or Fighters don't have to be as paranoid about will saves

Neither does a human barbarian with the Superstitious rage power, and he can still be enlarged to be able to do massive damage.

Silver Crusade

Bigdaddyjug wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Yeah, it doesn't work with outsiders, because it says it works on humanoids. It also gives immunities to dominate/hold person which means Angelkin Bloodragers (with the new ACG) or Fighters don't have to be as paranoid about will saves
Neither does a human barbarian with the Superstitious rage power, and he can still be enlarged to be able to do massive damage.

I really don't think a +2 to STR and one size larger weapon qualifies as massive damage, aside from Reach, the penalties you get from the larger size far outweigh the bonuses.


Rysky wrote:
Bigdaddyjug wrote:
ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Yeah, it doesn't work with outsiders, because it says it works on humanoids. It also gives immunities to dominate/hold person which means Angelkin Bloodragers (with the new ACG) or Fighters don't have to be as paranoid about will saves
Neither does a human barbarian with the Superstitious rage power, and he can still be enlarged to be able to do massive damage.
I really don't think a +2 to STR and one size larger weapon qualifies as massive damage, aside from Reach, the penalties you get from the larger size far outweigh the bonuses.

I concur. But that nifty reach is very hard to beat for a lot of builds.

And the AC penalty you get from being large is not a big deal at high levels, because either you meet people who will hit you with or without the AC penalty OR you meet people who won't hit you even with the AC penalty.

Shadow Lodge

Bigdaddyjug wrote:
Neither does a human barbarian with the Superstitious rage power, and he can still be enlarged to be able to do massive damage.

And you have to be a human barbarian. And still have a chance of failing the will save. Meanwhile an Angelkin Bloodrager can enlarge in combat with rage (and it says so in a few of the abilities) for the massive reach, and maintain massive damage. And the fighter can forgo the bonus reach and stuff, still be damage king, and not have the fighter glaring weakness of low will save.


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, doesn't work on Tieflings or Aasimar(or any other non humanoid race). You can however use a scroll or potion of enlarge person on yourself with a DC 25 Use Magic Device check to emulate another race.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Robert A Matthews wrote:
No, doesn't work on Tieflings or Aasimar(or any other non humanoid race). You can however use a scroll or potion of enlarge person on yourself with a DC 25 Use Magic Device check to emulate another race.

That's a ...novel... interpretation.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

And raises a damn fine question.


As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.


Talos Valcoran wrote:
As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.

Well... If you can actually change your race (subtype), then yes you could receive the bonus.


Talos Valcoran wrote:
As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.

Alter Self or Polymorph spell don’t change the type of a creature, so this won’t work.

Robert A Matthews wrote:
No, doesn't work on Tieflings or Aasimar(or any other non humanoid race). You can however use a scroll or potion of enlarge person on yourself with a DC 25 Use Magic Device check to emulate another race.

Use Magic Device is used to read a spell or activate a magic item, not change a magic item effects.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Robert A Matthews wrote:
No, doesn't work on Tieflings or Aasimar(or any other non humanoid race). You can however use a scroll or potion of enlarge person on yourself with a DC 25 Use Magic Device check to emulate another race.

You emulate a race to activate the item, not to target it. In other words you make this check if the item for example can only be acivated by elves, you roll so you can activate the item when you are not an elf.


勝20100 wrote:
Talos Valcoran wrote:
As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.

Alter Self or Polymorph spell don’t change the type of a creature, so this won’t work.

Robert A Matthews wrote:
No, doesn't work on Tieflings or Aasimar(or any other non humanoid race). You can however use a scroll or potion of enlarge person on yourself with a DC 25 Use Magic Device check to emulate another race.
Use Magic Device is used to read a spell or activate a magic item, not change a magic item effects.

I have to agree with you about alter self. Nothing in the spell indicate that your type actually changes.

I have to disagree with you on the UMD part.
Use Magic Device wrote:
Emulate a Race: Some magic items work only for members of certain races, or work better for members of those races. You can use such an item as if you were a member of a race of your choice. You can emulate only one race at a time.

This would totally allow you to use a wand or potion of enlarge person as though you were an actual humanoid. It does not change the magic items effect, it cheats the magic item into believing that you are a valid and/or better target for the effect.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Sometimes one just has to accept that certain powerful race choices have drawbacks, too.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Lifat wrote:


I have to disagree with you on the UMD part.
Use Magic Device wrote:
Emulate a Race: Some magic items work only for members of certain races, or work better for members of those races. You can use such an item as if you were a member of a race of your choice. You can emulate only one race at a time.
This would totally allow you to use a wand or potion of enlarge person as though you were an actual humanoid. It does not change the magic items effect, it cheats the magic item into believing that you are a valid and/or better target for the effect.

No, you cheat the item into believing you are a valid user. Not a valid target. that's what the whole skill is about. It says right in the first sentence.

Use Magic Device wrote:
You can use this skill to read a spell or to activate a magic item.


Threeshades wrote:
Lifat wrote:


I have to disagree with you on the UMD part.
Use Magic Device wrote:
Emulate a Race: Some magic items work only for members of certain races, or work better for members of those races. You can use such an item as if you were a member of a race of your choice. You can emulate only one race at a time.
This would totally allow you to use a wand or potion of enlarge person as though you were an actual humanoid. It does not change the magic items effect, it cheats the magic item into believing that you are a valid and/or better target for the effect.

No, you cheat the item into believing you are a valid user. Not a valid target. that's what the whole skill is about. It says right in the first sentence.

Use Magic Device wrote:
You can use this skill to read a spell or to activate a magic item.

I stand corrected, thank you for pointing that out.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

AbsolutGrndZer0 wrote:
Yep, that's part of why in 3.0/3.5 D&D and even some Pathfinder GMs don't allow Teiflings/Aasiamars and other "planetouched" as a base race (requires a +1) because being immune to a whole slew of spells that only affect humanoids can be considered rather powerful.

It's really a double-edged sword. Enlarge and reduce person are among the best 1st level spell buffs and remain useful even at high levels. The frequency of charm person being used on you depends heavily on the GM and rarely ever comes up. Even so, many monsters capable of charming use charm monster instead. Finally, outsiders are still vulnerable to suggestion and other compulsion abilities. So being immune to charm person is a very minor benefit whereas being immune to enlarge/reduce is a hefty loss.


The Growth subdomain offers a Su ability that emulates Enlarge Person rather than actually being the spell so an Outsider (or other type) with the Growth domain could use the Growth (Su) ability to enlarge themselves for 1 round.

Dark Archive

勝20100 wrote:
Talos Valcoran wrote:
As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.
Alter Self or Polymorph spell don’t change the type of a creature, so this won’t work.

Even if it did change your type it wouldn't work. Alter Self is a polymorph spell and the in magic chapter under polymorph: "spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Sczarni

An Ifrit however has an option to use a 1/day enlarge or reduce....


ZomB wrote:
勝20100 wrote:
Talos Valcoran wrote:
As far as I can tell an angel blooded aasimar who uses their alter self racial ability can then be enlarged.
Alter Self or Polymorph spell don’t change the type of a creature, so this won’t work.
Even if it did change your type it wouldn't work. Alter Self is a polymorph spell and the in magic chapter under polymorph: "spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Fair point.


Shfish wrote:
An Ifrit however has an option to use a 1/day enlarge or reduce....

So does the Efreeti. Thing is, that's a spell-like ability, therefore it trumps the normal rules as spell-like abilities are not spells, they just emulate a spell. It would be extremely crazy to give a creature a spell-like ability it could not use. So, an Ifrit can use his spell-like ability to enlarge or reduce himself 1/day. However, if he's a sorcerer and learns the spell, he can't cast the spell on himself.

Sczarni

Ifrits can only Enlarge other Ifrits, not themselves.

Silver Crusade

AbsolutGrndZer0 wrote:
Shfish wrote:
An Ifrit however has an option to use a 1/day enlarge or reduce....
So does the Efreeti. Thing is, that's a spell-like ability, therefore it trumps the normal rules as spell-like abilities are not spells, they just emulate a spell. It would be extremely crazy to give a creature a spell-like ability it could not use. So, an Ifrit can use his spell-like ability to enlarge or reduce himself 1/day. However, if he's a sorcerer and learns the spell, he can't cast the spell on himself.

There's a lot of debate as to whether ifrits can use Efreeti Magic on themselves. The wording of the ability says "other ifrits", not the usually "an ally" wording.


Nefreet wrote:
Ifrits can only Enlarge other Ifrits, not themselves.

Ah, no...

Efreeti Magic Some ifrits inherit an efreeti ancestor's ability to magically change a creature's size. They can cast either enlarge person or reduce person (the ifrit chooses when using this ability) once per day as a spell-like ability (caster level equals the ifrit's level). The ifrit can use this ability to affect other ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures. This racial trait replaces the spell-like ability racial trait.

Note the bolded part... it's saying that an Ifrit can use it on an ifrit because normally Enlarge Person cannot be used on an Ifrit at all because they are outsiders. Not that he can only use it on others.

It doesn't say "on ally" because he can't use it on a tiefling or an undine. By the normal RAW Enlarge Person only works on humanoids. An Ifrit gets a single exception to that rule, in that he can use it on ifrits. He is an ifrit.

Honestly, anyone who claims an Ifrit can't use it on himself is reading it way too critical.

Sczarni

No, seriously. This has come up multiple times before. It's even been confirmed by both the author and designers.

The word "other" actually matters. An Ifrit cannot use the ability on himself. Only other Ifrits.

"The ifrit can use this ability to affect other ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures."

Grand Lodge

OksebShogun wrote:
14 sided die wrote:
No it doesn't, Enlarge Person only affects humanoids, tieflings and aasimars are outsiders
but they are half human?

Their type is officially Outsider, subtype Native.

the "half-human" part is irrelevant here. The same thing that gives you immunity to Charm Person, to Ranger "Favored Enemy Human", makes you immune to this spell as well. Not resistant, immune.


OksebShogun wrote:
14 sided die wrote:
No it doesn't, Enlarge Person only affects humanoids, tieflings and aasimars are outsiders
but they are half human?

They are not. That'd be a human with the Half-Celestial template. An aassimar is presumably 1/4 celestial or less, but it's not specific.

Even if they were a half-celestial, they'd still be an Outsider, and thus invalid.

Amusingly, the Celestial template doesn't change type. That is probably just an oversight due to the template mostly being used for summoned monsters, but a Celestial Human would be a humanoid (human).


A Celestial Human would be one that, for whatever reason, was born and raised (possibly for several generations) on one of the Good aligned higher planes. Same goes for a Celestial Wolf; it's still an animal, but it was born in Heaven and basked in the "Heavenly Goodness" which "altered" it in certain ways. By contrast, a Half-Celestial refers to offspring and they could have been raised either in a Good plane or in any other plane.


Nefreet wrote:

No, seriously. This has come up multiple times before. It's even been confirmed by both the author and designers.

The word "other" actually matters. An Ifrit cannot use the ability on himself. Only other Ifrits.

"The ifrit can use this ability to affect other ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures."

Well, then good thing I don't play in PFS where I can't house rule it cause I think that's completely worthless to only be able to enlarge others but not yourself, specially when an actual Efretti specifically states it can be used on itself yet by the wording of that seems it cannot be used on other efreeti, or am I reading that wrong too?


AbsolutGrndZer0 wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

No, seriously. This has come up multiple times before. It's even been confirmed by both the author and designers.

The word "other" actually matters. An Ifrit cannot use the ability on himself. Only other Ifrits.

"The ifrit can use this ability to affect other ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures."

Well, then good thing I don't play in PFS where I can't house rule it cause I think that's completely worthless to only be able to enlarge others but not yourself, specially when an actual Efretti specifically states it can be used on itself yet by the wording of that seems it cannot be used on other efreeti, or am I reading that wrong too?

moot point

An ifrit is not an efreet just as orcs are not half-orcs; just as ferocity, an orc race trait, is not the same as orc ferocity, a half-orc trait.
This is the phrase:
The ifrit can use this ability to affect other ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures.
Not this
The ifrit can use this ability to affect ifrits as though they were humanoid creatures.
A word was added that explicitly changes the meaning, a word where its exclusion would mean the phrase means it can be used on oneself.


Sean covers this here.

No, it does not work.

And it's because they aren't Humanoids.


Additionally, regarding the idea that you can drink a potion and use UMD to emulate a race, drinking a potion still runs off the "cast a spell" mechanics; just that you're automatically designating yourself as a target. But if you're not a valid target, it will do nothing. So the Aasimar can drink a Potion of Enlarge Person and, from a game mechanic standpoint, it's an item that, when consumed, allows him to cast Enlarge Person on himself. He can use UMD to act like he's a Human casting Enlarge Person (moot because the race of the caster doesn't matter), but that doesn't make him count as Human for being the target of the spell. The result is the same as anyone casting Enlarge Person on any other Aasimar; they can cast the spell and burn the slot/spell per day, and the effect will simply fizzle because it's not a valid target.

Grand Lodge

I have an Aasimar that enlarges herself all the time... ok once per day. I use a Titanic Breastplate.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Drake Brimstone wrote:
I have an Aasimar that enlarges herself all the time... ok once per day. I use a Titanic Breastplate.

That's because it contains an explicit, specific clause that overrides the general rule of targeting Enlarge Person; it can affect the wearer, even if they are not humanoid.

Likewise, if you bypass the "targeting" altogether by stating that you gain the effect of Enlarge Person (ie. the Growth domain power), you're not being "targeted" by Enlarge Person but gaining the de facto effect so what it can or can't target is a moot point. As a rule of thumb, Spells and Spell-like Abilities are limited by targeting restrictions but most Supernatural and Extraordinary abilities will bypass them and just reference a spell for the Effect block (sometimes with minor or even major adjustments).

Scarab Sages

Kazaan wrote:
Drake Brimstone wrote:
I have an Aasimar that enlarges herself all the time... ok once per day. I use a Titanic Breastplate.

That's because it contains an explicit, specific clause that overrides the general rule of targeting Enlarge Person; it can affect the wearer, even if they are not humanoid.

Likewise, if you bypass the "targeting" altogether by stating that you gain the effect of Enlarge Person (ie. the Growth domain power), you're not being "targeted" by Enlarge Person but gaining the de facto effect so what it can or can't target is a moot point. As a rule of thumb, Spells and Spell-like Abilities are limited by targeting restrictions but most Supernatural and Extraordinary abilities will bypass them and just reference a spell for the Effect block (sometimes with minor or even major adjustments).

I saw this and then wondered...

Alchemy (Su): ... "An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion—the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist."

Does the "always affects" phrase over rule the humanoid restriction for effect?

The Exchange

Drake Brimstone wrote:
I have an Aasimar that enlarges herself all the time... ok once per day. I use a Titanic Breastplate.

You know, a fella could make a funny comment about that if he was so inclined.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge person, Teifling asimar All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions