using a spell storing weapon on yourself


Rules Questions


Let's say an enterprising young gish-type character uses a spell storing short sword, and he casts true strike into it. Then later, he declares he is scratching himself for 1 hp of damage with the sword to impart the true strike spell upon himself, claiming (plaintively) that doing so is said to be a free action in the core rules. In fact the spell storing ability description does say that casting the spell on the weapon's target is a free action if the target takes damage.

My inclination is to rule one of two ways:

Allow it to work, but decide that the attack deals full damage to himself (no criticals or precision based damage) to reward his ingenuity but deter it's overuse.

Allow it to work but decide it takes a standard action because it takes an actual attack on himself to cut himself.

What would you decide?

Liberty's Edge

First off, true strike is a personal spell, not a targeted one, so it can't be used in a spell-storing weapon. In general, though, I'd require a standard action to deal damage to oneself, especially for the purposes of using true strike. I'd allow it as part of a full-attack action if the character had a sufficiently high BAB, and then grant the +20 on the next attack in the sequence.


Delivering the spell during a strike is a non-action as part of the strike. I think most GMs would rule that damaging yourself with a weapon is a standard action, though.

That spell isn't valid for spell storing, though.


If I had to do that, I would attack myself for non-lethal damage. I think it would still take an attack though.

/cevah


There's no mechanic for "pulling your punches" or "scratching yourself for 1hp". If you attack yourself, then it's an attack (could be a standard attack action, or part of a full attack) and you deal damage as per the weapon. You also have to make sure you hit yourself with enough force to to damage (i.e. you have to make an attack roll vs. your AC). In short, it's exactly like any other attack.

Cevah wrote:

If I had to do that, I would attack myself for non-lethal damage. I think it would still take an attack though.

/cevah

This would work.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / using a spell storing weapon on yourself All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions