Damage, Bonus, Rolls, Etc


Rules Questions


I'm sure this is clear-as-day to people who play Pathfinder all the time... but I am fairly new to this and as much as I read and re-read the instructions in the book (or hunt for examples) I'm still confused. Honestly, the rulebook could REALLY use with some examples of how exactly damage is calculated in these instances (perhaps they're there, but I am missing them). So I am left unsure of how to calculate damage in a few instances and seek your help, fellow Pathfinder'ers.

First Question Example: if a standard melee weapon does 1d10+3 (a +3 because of a strength bonus on the character wielding it) and the character rolls a natural 20 therein granting them a critical threat. They roll again and roll higher than the enemies AC, therein confirming the critical hit. Now they need to roll damage, and since it was a critical, the weapon's damage is multiplied. In this example, does the character therein roll the 1d10 damage twice (e.g. 2d10) and then add a single +3 once they get the result of the 2d10 (i.e. a total maximum of 23 damage); or does the character roll the 1d10 twice (e.g. 2d10) then add the +3 bonus damage twice (e.g. +6) resulting in a total maximum of 26 damage?

Second Question Example: If the same character is now wielding a magic sword that has +1 on it; hence the sword would now regularly do 1d10+3+1 (the +3 for the character's strength bonus and the +1 for the item's magic bonus). In this example, what is the critical damage roll(s) they should perform?

Thanks in advance for your help everyone, I feel like such a n00b!


Relax, you're on the right track.

When you roll a critical hit i Pathfinder, you multiply the weapon die and ALL numeric bonuses, but not additional dice.

So your guy with the d10+3 would roll 2d10+6.

When he get a +1 sword he rolls 2d10+8.

:)


depends on where the damage is coming from some of it is multiplied on critical other are not. usually it states it states when it is not multiplied on a critical such as sneak attack damage. but for your first question str mod is multiplied on a critical. This is what make Scythe the number 1 accidental pc killer because if it's x4 damage.

question two answer is yes. the whole thing is x2. the magic and str. as I said it most often state, when it is not multiplied on a crit. There are few bonus that are exception and they state the call out that they do work on crit. Devastating Strike feat, it is part of the vital strike chain that does add it bonus damage on a crit. unlike the rest of vital strike feats that do not add on.

If no example is listed it is more then likely multiplied by a crit.


Nearly any numerical bonus is multiplied for a critical
1d10+3 --> 2d10+6
I can't think of a die bonus that is multiplied. So if you had an additional d6 from a flaming weapon or a rogue sneaking attacking it would be:
1d10+d6+3 --> 2d10+d6+6

Also just a heads up:
Without too much examination a weapon with a d10 damage die is almost certainly 2 handed, which means that its being wielded in 2 hands. Thus it receives 1.5 the str bonus.

So it would do 1d10+3 if the character had 14-15 strength (1.5*2)

If the character has 16-17 str, a +3 modifier, the damage would be 1d10+4.

It also receives a 3-1 ratio for power attack.


You guys are AMAZING!!! Thank you so much!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damage, Bonus, Rolls, Etc All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions