Question, I might be over thinking this...


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So, first off I'm new to this game but loving it. So my question scenario : for an example you encounter a spell that says you need a wisdom arcane check 6 to get. Now, if you don't have arcane and 6 wisdom, do you roll 1d6 for wisdom or a 1d4 for untrained arcane?

Silver Crusade

Whenever it gives multiple skills for a check, you have to pick which one you're using. If it said wisdom arcane, that means you either use wisdom OR arcane. If you don't have arcane, then you use wisdom.


Ok, just wondering because it doesn't say "or". Like on a wisdom divine OR something else. So it just seems like if you don't have divine you would roll a d4.


If there are lots of skills in one circle they are all 'OR'. Different circles with a written 'OR' are used when the difficulty of the check varies depending on which skill you pick.


Awesome. Thanks for the help :D

Silver Crusade

From page 11 of the rulebook (bolding mine):

Quote:
“Check to Defeat” and “Check to Acquire” are followed by one or more skills; you may use any of the skills listed for your check. (For example, if a check lists Dexterity, Disable, Strength, and Melee, you may choose to use Dexterity, Disable, Strength, or Melee to attempt your check.)


Fromper wrote:

Whenever it gives multiple skills for a check, you have to pick which one you're using. If it said wisdom arcane, that means you either use wisdom OR arcane. If you don't have arcane, then you use wisdom.

Clarification. You can still use Arcane if you so desire, but the base die for that would be a d4. There are instances where you may choose to roll the smaller die because you may have a card that affects a check related to that specific skill, so overall, you'd end up coming out better with perhaps a d4+d10, than you would have with a d6 or a d8 for the base ability.

Liberty's Edge

Each skill listed for that check are separate skill that can be used for that check target number. The only time you will see an OR is if there is a different check target number.

So you could see something like [BTW I am making up these numbers because I don't have my game in front of me]

Wisdom
Perception
8
OR
Arcane
9

So you can try either Wisdom or Perception to get an 8 or Arcane to get a 9. If you don't have Perception or Arcane as one of your skills then you would just roll and untrained 1d4, but that can be modified with cards from your hand. So say you have a Wisdom of 1d8 and neither skill, but you do have a card that gives you +1d6 to Perception.

You could: 1 - Roll Wisdom or 1d8 to get an 8, 2 - Roll Perception of 1d4 + 1d6 to get an 8, or 3 - Roll Arcane of 1d4 to get a 9.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question, I might be over thinking this... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion