
Silent_Knife |

If I'm playing as Harsk (has no spells in his hand) and I run into a spell card while exploring my location, do I still check to acquire so I can use the benefits on the card? Such as "discard this card to explore your location." Would I take the card and use it in that scenario and then trash it after the scenario is completed? Sorry, I'm a noob and don't remember reading about this in the rulebook...

![]() |

If I'm playing as Harsk (has no spells in his hand) and I run into a spell card while exploring my location, do I still check to acquire so I can use the benefits on the card? Such as "discard this card to explore your location." Would I take the card and use it in that scenario and then trash it after the scenario is completed? Sorry, I'm a noob and don't remember reading about this in the rulebook...
As Desolate Harmony said, this is the forum for PFS organized play, not the PACG. You might have better luck finding an answer in that forum.
But since you posted here, yes, you can always make a check to acquire as long as you have the ability to make the check. However, if the spell only has an Arcane or Divine to check against (neither of which Harsk has, I think), then he would be out of luck.
Edit: There is also something in the rules about 'if you dont have the required skill, but do have something else, you can roll d4 for the check', but I dont remember in what context that might actually be useful or how its worded exactly. I DO remember being confused by it after first reading it since it seemed to contradict the rule I stated above for needing the skill to make the check. I think it might be listed on the back cover under the 'commonly forgotten rules' or whatever that section is.
Hope that helps! :)

![]() |

The acquire check and the abilities on the card don't go hand and hand. Once you acquire the card, then you can use the abilities on the card.
For a spell, nothing in the text for using the primary ability on the card after banishing it, but to discard it instead you have to have the skill associated with the spell. Then if the spell allows it, you can try and recharge it instead.
Basically, a spell card is a scroll that anyone can use once. But in the hands of a caster, you can use it time and time again.
BTW, you can find the answer to this question and many others by doing a search on these boards and through the FAQ.