Skeletal Horde Barrier


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


Ok, so I was playing the Brigadoom scenario last night with a friend, got three of the four locations closed, friend's character died, leaving me to finish. At the last location, I ran into the Skeletal Horde barrier that says, "Each character at an open location summons and encounters an Ancient Skeleton henchman."

Well with me being the only one still alive, and only one location still open, it was easy to understand, but it got me thinking, what if there were more than just myself at this one open location. If there was say 3 total players all at the one remaining open location, would 3 Ancient Skeletons all be summoned at that one location, with each person taking turns and having to fight their own skeleton?

I'm guessing this is the correct assumption, but I wanted to try to find out for sure.


You are correct


Additionally, would each other person get a chance to close the locations they were at after defeating the henchmen, as it states on the card? Even though they are not official henchmen of the Scenario?


@JayRathore - When a henchman is Summoned you do not get the chance to close the location when you defeat it.

Rulebook, page 12 wrote:
If the summoned card is a villain or henchman, defeating it does not allow you to close a location or win the scenario—ignore any such text on those cards.


@HeWhoLaffs - every character has to face a Skeleton.

Note that you only summon as many as are left in the box. If there are four characters and only 2 skeletons in the box then two characters won't have to fight. I missed this the first few times I played but it applies to all cases where monsters are summoned - you only have to face as many as there are cards for in the box.


h4ppy,

Mike S. has indicated otherwise.

Each character will encounter a skeleton no matter how many are left in the box.


You really only need one Ancient Skeleton card to refer to. When this sort if thing happens we roll dice to determine what order we face the skeletons.


Ah, ok. Has that been errata-ed? I was going 'by the book' since I hadn't seen any comment by Mike or Vic to the contrary.

Rulebook, page 12 wrote:
If you need to summon or add a number of cards and there aren’t enough copies of that card in the box, the current player decides how to distribute the cards that are there; ignore the rest.

@OberonViking - I would take this to mean, by extension, that the turn player can choose the order in which the summoned cards are encountered, even if there's no 'number of cards in the box' limit. You're welcome to roll dice instead if you wish!


Here you go h4ppy. Mike's response on this is here.


Thanks for the link, @QuantumNinja.

Nice to know I was accidentally playing the game correctly ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Skeletal Horde Barrier All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.