HeWhoLaffs's page
Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.
|
Mike Selinker wrote: When you invoke the powers box of the card. Until then, it's just a spell card you put in your hand. This is similar to something my friend and I were discussing earlier today. He says that if a spell like Cure were to be acquired by say Valeros, who does not have Devine, can still activate and use the card one time to heal himself or someone else. It would be a one time use and would have to banish it after the effects happen since he doesn't have Devine, but is still able to use it.
My friend said he saw people discussing it on the boards and saying yes it was in fact legal to do, but after looking, I can't find this discussion anywhere. His reasoning is that it acts as a one time use scroll, and maybe that is the case, but I still find it odd to be able to do that, and if there were ever to be scroll type cards, they would probably be in the item category. Anyway, I'm just wondering what the official ruling is on this. Thanks.
I know barriers are considered a bane and you have to make a check to defeat it, but when you encounter them, is it considered combat or non-combat, as why would you be in combat with a Battered Chest or a Mystic Inscription? I know some barriers like Collapsing Ceiling say to take 2d4 damage if you fail the check, but would you take the 2d4 damage along with the difference you missed the check by?
Let's say you encounter the Battered Chest, which doesn't mention taking damage, and requires a Dex 10 or Str 8 check, you decide to go for Str and roll a 6, do you take 2 points of damage for not defeating it? To me that wouldn't make much sense, but maybe that is the case, I just don't know. Maybe you could say it has a trap on it that you triggered or something, but I'm still not sold on that idea.

Just making sure I'm doing it right. Was playing solo and on the last open location of my scenario, I came across the Poison Trap henchman card, defeated that, "when closing" says to summon a Bandit henchman card, I defeated that, so I went thru the location deck pulled out the Pillbug villain, and attempted to defeat him. I got a check of 10 out of 11, so I took one damage. He had no where to escape to, so I re-drew back to my hand size to end my turn, started my next turn, and defeated him.
After defeating the Poison Trap, then doing the "when closing" and defeating the Bandit henchman, I was left with only one card, my weapon. My question is, is there a "break" after accomplishing the "when closing" part of the location and encountering the villain so I'm able to re-draw back to my full handsize or do I have to continue on to the the villain encounter with what little cards I have?
I'm assuming I did it right, but it just seems a little harsh, especially when playing solo and not having others able to help out, to have to fight two henchmen and then the villain all in a row without a break to be able to replenish your hand in any way.
Ok, if you don't want to use the pre-made deck suggestions at the back of the rulebook, you can choose the cards (weapons, spells, etc.) that you want to use to add to your character deck, using the number limitations on the character card, such as playing Valeros you can choose the 5 weapons that you want to include in your starting character deck. Keep in mind that any cards you choose, must have the word Basic in the list of traits.
When you are done selecting all the cards you want to have in your character deck, shuffle the deck, draw your handsize, 4 for Valeros, and if none of those cards that you drew were weapons, then you can shuffle your hand back into your deck and re-draw 4 new cards over and over until you draw at least 1 weapon to start with. That's what it means by favored card type. So Ezren's favored card is spells, and if in my opening playing Ezren I didn't draw any spells among those 6 cards, then I could shuffle and re-draw.

Playing the Brigadoom scenario, when you encounter the villain, Jubrayl Vhiski, it says "Before the encounter, recharge 2 cards of your choice from your hand." The text on the Brigadoom scenario card says, "any time a monster would force you to recharge a card, you may redraw another card." My question is, even though Jubrayl is the villain, would he also be considered a monster, therefore allowing you to redraw two new cards?
I only ask because even though I know he's supposed to be some dastardly villain, it just seems like it can be very devastating to certain character to try and beat him, like Valeros or Amiri, who only have a hand size of 4, thus leaving them with only 2 cards to fight him with. Granted sometimes all it may take is the right card or two, but it still seems a little harsh if you weren't able to redraw two new cards.
I'm going to assume that he does not technically count as a monster, and that you don't get to draw two cards to replace the others, but I was looking for clarification.
Ok, so I was playing the Brigadoom scenario last night with a friend, got three of the four locations closed, friend's character died, leaving me to finish. At the last location, I ran into the Skeletal Horde barrier that says, "Each character at an open location summons and encounters an Ancient Skeleton henchman."
Well with me being the only one still alive, and only one location still open, it was easy to understand, but it got me thinking, what if there were more than just myself at this one open location. If there was say 3 total players all at the one remaining open location, would 3 Ancient Skeletons all be summoned at that one location, with each person taking turns and having to fight their own skeleton?
I'm guessing this is the correct assumption, but I wanted to try to find out for sure.
|