Can undead take penalties to physical stats?


Rules Questions


Not subject to nonlethal damage, ability drain, or energy drain. Immune to damage to its physical ability scores (Constitution, Dexterity, and Strength), as well as to exhaustion and fatigue effects.

Penalties are not "damage" nor are they ability drain.

For the purpose of limp lash : http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/l/limp-lash

Also im wondering if you can take any other actions while limp lash is in effect, since the spell just says that you have to keep holding the rope....

Edit : The spell description is kind of odd.

It specifically says that the target does not get paralyzed until its ability score drops to 1, which takes several rounds usually.

So what happens in the meantime? Can the target move around and attack? Or what?

And if undead is immune to ability damage but not penalties, does that mean limp lash can reduce their physical stats but not keep them paralyzed...so they would be able to move around and attack?

Dark Archive

From the Glossary:

Quote:
Some spells and abilities cause you to take an ability penalty for a limited amount of time. While in effect, these penalties function just like ability damage, but they cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die. In essence, penalties cannot decrease your ability score to less than 1.

So, a Penalty to an ability score acts just like damage, but cannot drop a score to less then 1 and cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die.

Taking that in account, undead are immune to penalties to ability scores.


Thanks for the clarification.

What if its a non-undead, how does the spell work?

Dark Archive

sorry, had to stop and read the spell..

This is just from my understanding.

So, you make a ranged touch attack as part of the spell to hit them with the lash

They can move around or attack as normal until one of the following happens:


  • They attack and break the lash (spell ends)
  • you let go of the lash (spell ends)
  • One of their physical ability scores drops to 1 (paralyzed)

Other than that, I am not sure. There appears to be nothing keeping the target in the 20' range during this time, and nothing stating what would happen if the target leaves or tries to leave the 20' range. My best guess (from the RAW on magic and the spell), is that the spell would end if the target left the range of the spell.

I would expect to see lines in the spell that state that the target gains the grappled condition, but there is nothing there.


This spell seems really poorly written...is there any way to request an errata?


bump...


,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can undead take penalties to physical stats? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.