Boarding gaff?


Rules Questions


From Pirates of the Inner Sea.

I searched, but couldn't find an answer for this.

This exotic weapon is a double weapon, and it has reach.

So both sides have reach? Or can you, as some sort of action, switch from double to reach?

Grand Lodge

Boarding Gaff wrote:

Boarding gaff

Source Pirates of the Inner Sea pg. 19
Statistics
Cost 8 gp Weight 8 lbs.
Damage: 1d4/1d4 (small), 1d6/1d6 (medium); Critical: x2; Range —; Type: S; Special: double, reach, trip
Description
A gaff hook is a long pole with a hook on one end for spearing fish. Pirates often add extra, heavier hooks to both ends of gaff hooks to assist with boarding actions. After the pirates use grappling hooks to draw ships close together, they hook the gunwales together with boarding gaffs to prevent the ships from drifting. Small crafts often use boarding gaffs in place of grappling hooks.

Boarding gaffs bite deeply into the wood of the railing. It takes 1 minute to pry a boarding gaff loose. Most pirates use a boarding axe or cutlass to cut through boarding gaffs rather than trying to unhook them one by one.

The gaff can also be used for fishing when not in combat.


That's the weapon. Is there something I'm missing?

Grand Lodge

Well, RAW, both sides have Reach and Trip.

I very much doubt that is RAI though.


I would think both sides would have trip. But not so much the double/reach same time. At least, not RAI.

Liberty's Edge

By RAW, double and reach are independent qualities. As written, it can be used only with reach, whether used with the double utility or not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Boarding gaff? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.