Fabricate and time to complete valuable items


Rules Questions


In our group we are discussing Fabricate and the time it takes with this spell to create a valuable item (i.e. Master Work Weapon or Armor).

Do you substitue the whole crafting process with one casting of Fabricate?

or

Do you substitute one week of mundane crafting with one casting?


As long as you can hit the DC to make a masterwork, you get a masterwork.


Yes, but the question is, if one casting of Fabricate is enpough for any item or one casting substitues just one week of mundane crafting


The Spell says that in order to craft an item, you must have the amount of gold/materials in raw format to convert them into the desired item.

In addition, it also states that it takes one full round to cast for every 10 cubic feet the item is in size (working with a mineral, such as a metal or gem reduces it to 1 cubic foot per level instead of the usual 10).

However, the spell states you must make a Craft check relevant to the item being created in order for the spell to succeed as to what you are trying to make out of the materials present.

As far as the duration and method of solution is concerned, it's fairly clear. In terms of as to what makes a Craft check relevant varies upon the item.

Honestly, I think a better question that should be asked is "Can I use Spellcraft (a type of Craft check) to complete the item being made (since it is being made via a spell)?" Since as worded, unless the character can have a relevant means to craft an actual weapon, it defeats the purpose of having this spell.


I understand your point, but the discussion arose because of the following sentence in the skill decription craft:

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/skills/craft.html#_craft wrote:
In some cases, the fabricate spell can be used to achieve the results of a Craft check with no actual check involved. You must still make an appropriate Craft check when using the spell to make articles requiring a high degree of craftsmanship.

Some players in our group read this, that one craft check is replaced instead of all craft checks for expensive items


The spell takes a full round. You get the results of the craft check at the end of that round. You don't need multiple castings. One casting. One item. One check. Boom. Masterwork.

It's magic, a mid-level spell that is just replacing some mundane effort. It saves you time, not money.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Fabricate and time to complete valuable items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions