Net using Sea Reaver questions


Rules Questions


So nets are a strange weapon with lots of rules and lots of unclear rules. I apologize since some of these questions I know have been answered dozens of times but I want to include them for the sake of completeness.

Quote:

When you throw a net, you make a ranged touch attack against your target. A net's maximum range is 10 feet. If you hit, the target is entangled. An entangled creature takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty on Dexterity, can move at only half speed, and cannot charge or run. If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows. If the entangled creature attempts to cast a spell, it must make a concentration check with a DC of 15 + the spell's level or be unable to cast the spell.

An entangled creature can escape with a DC 20 Escape Artist check (a full-round action). The net has 5 hit points and can be burst with a DC 25 Strength check (also a full-round action). A net is useful only against creatures within one size category of you.

A net must be folded to be thrown effectively. The first time you throw your net in a fight, you make a normal ranged touch attack roll. After the net is unfolded, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls with it. It takes 2 rounds for a proficient user to fold a net and twice that long for a non-proficient one to do so.

Anyways I am working on building a Sea Reaver Barbarian. The basic concept is he lurks in the water, and will pop out and drag opponents into the water where they will be at a serious disadvantage. I figured neting them and then draging them underwater would be even more disadvantageous for them. So thats the basic concept, so now onto the my questions.

1) I am going human and want to take the Heart of the Sea alternate racial trait. Does the double length of hold breath stack with Marine Terror Sea Reaver feature? Would a barbarian sea reaver with 14 con and heart of the sea be able to hold his breath for 112 rounds (11.2 minutes?)

Quote:
Heart of the Sea Humans born near the sea are always drawn to it. They gain a +2 racial bonus on Profession (sailor) and Swim checks, and these are always class skills for them. They can hold their breath twice as long as normal, and spellcasters gain a +4 racial bonus on concentration checks when attempting to cast spells underwater. This racial trait replaces skilled.
Quote:

Marine Terror (Ex)

A sea reaver can hold her breath for a number of rounds equal to four times her Constitution score. In addition, a sea reaver can move normally though squares of standing water or bog that is 1 foot deep. It does not cost her extra movement to traverse these terrains. Lastly, a sea reaver ignores the normal cover bonus to AC when attacking creatures that are partially immersed in water.

This ability replaces fast movement.

2) A net can be attacked and has 5hp. Rope has a hardness of 0. A net also has a leading rope on it. TO attack a net dose the entangled person have to make a sunder Combat Maneuver to hit it? This would provoke and AoO from creatures that threaten correct (assuming no improved sunder feat)?

3) Net adept makes the net a 1 handed melee weapon.

Quote:
You can treat a net as a one-handed melee reach weapon with a 10-foot reach. Further, you take no penalty on melee attack rolls for using an unfolded net, and you can use one full-round action or two move actions to fold a net.

3a) Does the net deal strength damage on a hit just no weapon dice? It is listed under weapons and not items like a tanglefoot bag which leads me to wonder this.

3b) It says it is a melee reach weapon with 10-foot reach, does this mean it cannot be used against adjacent opponents? Just opponents 10 feet away?

4) Net Maneuvering allows you to use a net to drag or reposition an opponent. Repositioning would not allow you to force him over the edge of a ship from my understanding, but if my character were to jump off the side of a ship while holding the rope could he attempt a Drag Combat Maneuver to pull the entangled creature over? I would assume a failed attempt in this would result in my character dangling over the edge with the entangled creature keeping his footing.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

1) Normally a 14 constitution allows you to hold your breath for 28 rounds. Heart of Sea says twice as long as normal so that would usually be 56 rounds. Marine Terror says four time constitution score so usually that would be 56 rounds as well. In most cases when you double something, you double from the base. I see how you got from 28 to 112 (56 + 56), but I would think that D&D math (and Pathfinder math) would probably work like this 4xCon (56) + Twice as long as Normal (28) = 84 rounds. The reason is that normal is 28 rounds, so twice as long as normal is an additional 28 rounds. You do not get to add your base 28 rounds more than once. I know this seems like convoluted math but consider your base as 28 rounds plus an additional 28 rounds for Heart of the Sea plus an additional 28 rounds for Marine Terror as it made your bas 4xCon and not just 2xCon or in other words a total of 6xCon for both the racial trait and the class feature. Clear as mud?

2) Since a net has specific rules to break it, this would not fall under a Sunder attempt. If your foe wanted to attack it while it was still in your hands and before you threw it, then it would be a Sunder attempt.

3a) A net never deals damage of any kind unless it is some type of special net.

3b) As a reach weapon it could not be used on adjacent foes. Also when using a net as a ranged weapon, it will draw attacks of opportunity.

4) That sounds about right.

Nice build, it would prove interesting in a Skull and Shackles type campaign.


Hendelbolaf wrote:

1) Normally a 14 constitution allows you to hold your breath for 28 rounds. Heart of Sea says twice as long as normal so that would usually be 56 rounds. Marine Terror says four time constitution score so usually that would be 56 rounds as well. In most cases when you double something, you double from the base. I see how you got from 28 to 112 (56 + 56), but I would think that D&D math (and Pathfinder math) would probably work like this 4xCon (56) + Twice as long as Normal (28) = 84 rounds. The reason is that normal is 28 rounds, so twice as long as normal is an additional 28 rounds. You do not get to add your base 28 rounds more than once. I know this seems like convoluted math but consider your base as 28 rounds plus an additional 28 rounds for Heart of the Sea plus an additional 28 rounds for Marine Terror as it made your bas 4xCon and not just 2xCon or in other words a total of 6xCon for both the racial trait and the class feature. Clear as mud?

2) Since a net has specific rules to break it, this would not fall under a Sunder attempt. If your foe wanted to attack it while it was still in your hands and before you threw it, then it would be a Sunder attempt.

3a) A net never deals damage of any kind unless it is some type of special net.

3b) As a reach weapon it could not be used on adjacent foes. Also when using a net as a ranged weapon, it will draw attacks of opportunity.

4) That sounds about right.

Nice build, it would prove interesting in a Skull and Shackles type campaign.

1) I can live with that.

2) It dosent have specific rules to attack it, it just say it has 5 hitpoints. With 5 hitpoint, 0 hardness and a less than 10 ac to hit why would anyone ever try to do anything but attack it with their weapon, which most people would at least draw a dagger if you came at them with a net. It would seem incredibly worthless for something with a multi feat line to be able to get out of beyond level 1 with just a standard action.

3a) Where does it say it never deals damage?

3b) unfortunate but I guess it makes sense, just a little weird with a maximum throw range of 10 feet.

4) Yay fun, combine with 1 and I win by drowning powerful people.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

2) It falls under the attacking of an object rules. However, I could see how if it were still controlled by a guide rope, it would be considered an attended object and Sunder could come into play, but that might be stretching it a little in my opinion.

3a) It never says that it never deals damage but under the chart there are no damage dice for it. That would imply that this is a non-damaging weapon. Now, if you were to weave spikes into it or give it the flaming or cold properties through magical enchantment, then I could see some damage being done. I was talking about how a normal net will do no dice damage and thus no strength damage either.

3b) It has a 10ft. range increment. That means that 0 to 10ft. is as a normal ranged attack and it is -2 to hit for each range increment beyond that up to 5 range increments or 50ft. You better have at least 50 ft. of guide rope attached.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Net using Sea Reaver questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.