| hiei82 |
I've run into a strange sort of rule question.
Context: There's a rage power from the APG called "Ferocious Trample". The rage power does this:
Benefit: While raging and mounted, the barbarian’s mount gains the trample special attack. This attack inflicts 1d8 points of damage for a Medium mount, 2d6 for a Large mount, or 2d8 for a Huge mount, plus 1–1/2 times the mount’s Strength modifier. A successful Reflex save (DC 10 + 1/2 the barbarian’s level + the mount’s Strength modifier) halves this damage. Creatures in the mount’s path or that threaten squares it passes through may make attacks of opportunity against either the barbarian or the mount, but not both.
All seems well and fine until you look at the greater version. Ferocious Trample, Greater reads as such:
Benefit: A barbarian’s mount can affect creatures up to its own size with its ferocious trample. In addition, it can make an overrun combat maneuver check as a free action against a creature that fails its Reflex save (or chooses not to save in order to take an attack of opportunity) against its trample.
This seems strange to me as Trample is listed in the Bestiary as BEING an overrun combat maneuver
As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category Smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature’s slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature’s trample attack is 10 + 1/2 the creature’s HD + the creature’s Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature’s descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.
So, in effect, "Ferocious Trample, Greater" is saying that when you make an overrun combat maneuver, you make a free overrun combat maneuver. I know this must be wrong, but I can't for the life of me figure out what it's actually supposed to do.
Anyone have any insights?
| hiei82 |
Trample does damage but does not knock prone.
Overrun combat maneuvers knocks prone, but don't do damage.
You now have the option to do both, and get attacks of opportunity (with Greater Overrun) or do more damage (with the Overbearing Advance rage power).
I guess that makes sense, but then how does Trample "work just like the overrun combat maneuver" if the two do entirely different effects?... Sometimes I hate the way Paizo/Wizards worded their rules...
Thanks!