| jabberwoky |
Assume for the moment that our party has two cavaliers that belong to the Order of the Dragon.
Both of them, at first level, challenge a monster and attack it. Both of the cavaliers are adjacent to each other (they are side by side) and threatening the monster. Do both cavaliers gain a +1 to their attacks versus that monster from the other cavalier?
Challenge: Whenever an order of the dragon cavalier issues a challenge, his allies receive a +1 circumstance bonus on melee attack rolls against the target of his challenge whenever he is threatening the target. This bonus increases by +1 for every four levels the cavalier possesses.
Bonus Question: A Huntmaster (Cavalier Archetype) has an animal companion that shares the effects of the cavalier's challenge. If the Huntmaster challenges a monster, and he and his animal companion are adjacent to each other and threatening the monster, do both the animal companion and Huntmaster gain a +1 to their attacks versus that monster?
Bestial Challenge (Ex): Whenever a huntmaster issues a challenge, both he and his hunting pack gain the bonuses and penalties associated with his challenge.
This ability modifies the challenge ability.
Michael Sayre
|
Yes, and to your bonus question, yes. Each cavalier (or companion)s ability is activating the bonus for his counterpart. You aren't stacking any same-type bonuses because only one person is receiving the bonus per character with a challenge. If you added additional allies into the mix, they'd only be able to benefit from the bonus from one of the cavaliers (or companions), since same type bonuses don't stack.
| Reecy |
Yes Circumstance Bonuses Stack
Second Question Yes...
here is a Paradox Question
Can the Companion Issue a Challenge also...
You give it Int for stat Bonus teach it Common and have it issue threats of doom and Pain upon enemies... Granted this may cost you an additional Challenge but man would it be funny!
Michael Sayre
|
Hrm - would they not stack?
The Order of the Dragon Challenge is a circumstance bonus. Circumstance bonuses generally stack as long as they are from different sources; in this case, is the source the challenge, or is the source the Cavalier?
My assumption is that they wouldn't. I'm willing to be wrong though. But if I had two clerics with a spell called "Order of the Dragon Challenge", you typically wouldn't allow a casting from each to count, because the "source" is "Order of the Dragon Challenge". My assumption is that the cavalier ability would be adjudicated the same way, since the source of the bonus is the challenge.
| Xaratherus |
Xaratherus wrote:My assumption is that they wouldn't. I'm willing to be wrong though. But if I had two clerics with a spell called "Order of the Dragon Challenge", you typically wouldn't allow a casting from each to count, because the "source" is "Order of the Dragon Challenge". My assumption is that the cavalier ability would be adjudicated the same way, since the source of the bonus is the challenge.Hrm - would they not stack?
The Order of the Dragon Challenge is a circumstance bonus. Circumstance bonuses generally stack as long as they are from different sources; in this case, is the source the challenge, or is the source the Cavalier?
As far as I can find, Paizo has no official ruling on this for Pathfinder. The d20 SRD states unequivocally that circumstance bonuses stack regardless of source in the Common Terms section; the PRD does not break the bonuses down in the same way that I can find, so I'm not certain that circumstance bonuses stack even if they're from different sources. They probably should, but it may have been overlooked.