
Darthgaul |

I wonder if this works. I would like to carry a tower shield until i get in charge range of my enemy. Then as part of my move/ charge action drop the shield as a free action and ready my greatsword. Does the move of a charge qualify for those free actions? From the way I'm reading it, it works as long as I charge as a full round action and not a standard action, but it doesn't really say it in the rules.
Another semi-related question if I us a tower shield for total cover does a ally behind be also receive total cover?
We recently faced bad guys with lots of ranged attacks. :)
Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.
If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.
Strapping a shield to your arm to gain its shield bonus to your AC, or unstrapping and dropping a shield so you can use your shield hand for another purpose, requires a move action. If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you can ready or drop a shield as a free action combined with a regular move.
Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.
Movement During a Charge: You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.
You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't charge. Helpless creatures don't stop a charge.
If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't charge that opponent.
You can't take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge.
If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.
Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.
A charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent.
Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.

Tarantula |

Charge replicates only the "If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1." text. It does not allow you to ready or drop a shield as part of a charge if you bab is +1 or higher.
RAW No, it doesn't work.
Houserules, its not unreasonable to allow it, as you normally can ready/drop shields as part of a move action with bab+1 or higher. Talk to your GM.
As for the other question:
"As a standard action, however, you can use a tower shield to grant you total cover until the beginning of your next turn."
No, it doesn't help allies.

![]() |

Another semi-related question if I us a tower shield for total cover does a ally behind be also receive total cover?
From the tower shield description:
"That edge is treated as a solid wall for attacks targeting you only."The ally behind you would get the same cover normally granted by you being between the attacker and your ally: soft cover of +2 or +4 depending on how much of your ally is visible to the attacker.
Granting a greater amount of cover for the ally due to the tower shield would be house rules territory.