Tripping / netting mounted enemies


Rules Questions


Suppose I'm fighting someone who is on a flying mount. If I trip them, do they fall off the mount (I've seen similar threads but no definitive answer)?

I was thinking specifically of using a bolas to do a ranged trip attempt to knock someone off their mount.

Alternatively, could you throw a net at someone and yank them off their mount? It says:

When you throw a net, you make a ranged touch attack against your target. A net's maximum range is 10 feet. If you hit, the target is entangled. An entangled creature takes a –2 penalty on attack rolls and a –4 penalty on Dexterity, can move at only half speed, and cannot charge or run. If you control the trailing rope by succeeding on an opposed Strength check while holding it, the entangled creature can move only within the limits that the rope allows.

Re: the bolded section--can I throw a net at the rider, entangle them, and then move far enough away from the mount such that the rider gets pulled off (since they must remain within the net and the length limit of the rope)?

Thanks


Anybody?


Where are the rules that say you can pull a creature that isn't mounted? Look at those and extrapolate, if possible. I don't recall any off the top of my head.

In the absence of any such rules confirming or forbidding such an action, I would allow some variation of the Drag maneuver by net users, similar to how Whip users can perform ranged Trips and Disarms.


Actually, Net Maneuverability in Ultimate Combat does just that.


I believe there's a reposition maneuver which I suppose could be a pull, right? I'll have to check that out.

Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Tripping / netting mounted enemies All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions