Pit Five


Play-by-Post

1 to 50 of 149 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Bout One
GNASHER VS. SHIGEHARU


The dark-haired lithe man enters the arena smoothly and calmly. He surveys the crowd briefly with a glance before turning to his opponent and bowing. He holds a parchment in his hand, and a bandolier of vials is secured across his chest. A few javelins and a set of manacles are tied in his belt, and a long-handled sword is sheathed on his back, attached to his wrist by a cord.

Visible armament is robes, a cloak, sheathed sword, and some javelins.

Arbiter:
Initiative roll 1d20 + 2 ⇒ (20) + 2 = 22

Initiative is a 22. Good luck!


It's been the opening weekend, so we'll give Shigeharu a bit more time to jump in. Sorry for the delay.


Don't you mean Gnasher? ;-). No worries--I actually was going to ask you about arena freeze and I saw you'd written this post. I didn't see it in the campaign info tab--does it still exist in the live arena?


>.<;; Yes, I do mean gnasher.

And I do believe it should, to promote things moving along as efficiently as possible and discourage people from jumping into the pits if they don't have the time to finish the fights. The nice thing about the rules being in the campaign tab is that they can be changed around in a single location, and anyone can read it for the latest rulings. I think I'll add a section on arena freeze. For now, let's say that if he hasn't posted by midnight tonight he misses the turn, at noon tomorrow he forfeits.


You have my apologies for the delay. I will have a post up shortly. I was working at an anime convention this weekend and never really sat down at a computer and today I wound up sleeping up till about four hours ago. Thank you both for your consideration too.


A small frail looking goblin wearing raggedy clothing would enter the arena glancing about nervously. Within one hand he grasps a vial.

Other things that be of note beyond the vial in his hand, he appears to have a amulet about his neck and a few bulges appear evident in the rags he wears.

Arbiter:
I forgot to add the clothing to his expenditures, I can have him run in naked, but he does have something around 300 gp in unspent funds.

Initiative Roll 1d20 + 6 ⇒ (11) + 6 = 17

Initiative 17


No worries, man. Good luck!

Shigeharu tilts his head, eying the goblin suspiciously. He tries to consider how such a creature could be a worthy opponent, but he had seen some surprising things in the arena. Acting decisively, he steps behind the pillar to gain cover from his enemy.

5 ft step to B12, other actions hidden by cover.

Arbiter:
5ft step to B12, cast Shield from scroll. 20/20 rounds remaining.


Watching his prey step behind a pillar, the little Goblin would smile.

Actions masked by the pillar Shigeharu stepped behind, but moves up to k10

Arbiter:
Sorry should have said this before. The vial in his hand is a Potion of Mage Armor.

Pulls out his extract of shield and drinks it.

Current AC: 21


There is no sight or sound of the swordsman.

Round 1: Perception Check DC 63 to locate me. Yeesh. ;-) Back to you.

Arbiter:
Cast Vanish, draw scroll of Mirror Image. Shield round remaining 19/20, Vanish rounds remaining 3/3. Stealth roll: 1d20 + 45 ⇒ (18) + 45 = 63


The little goblin would stand his ground while keeping an eye out for his prey.

Arbiter:
Swiftly drinks his potion of Mage Armor as a move action thanks to Accelerated Drinker.

Standard action to pull forth his mutagen and drink it to up his Dex by +4, drop his Wis by -2, up his natural armor to +2, and gain a bite and 2 claw attacks.

Current AC: 29

If Shigeharu is capable of seeing the goblin:
The goblin swiftly drinks his potion before pulling out some sort of concoction and imbibing it. As the concoction takes effect, the goblin's skin seems to harden while his teeth and nails elongate.


Round 2

The crowd boos as Shigeharu is still missing.

Gnasher Perception DC 37:
I'm (invisible) at D12.

Arbiter:
Cast Mirror Image from the scroll: 1d4 + 1 ⇒ (2) + 1 = 3images. Move to D12, stealth roll: 1d20 + 25 ⇒ (12) + 25 = 37 Swift Action: Draw dagger from spring-loaded wrist sheath. Vanish Rounds remaining: (2/3), Shield Rounds Remaining: (19/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (30/30), Images Remaining: (3/3)

Back to you.


Round 2 - End

Gnasher would continue to look about while pulling forth two more vials, one of which he would imbibe.

Arbiter:
Move action to pull forth potion of Vanish (CL 2).

Standard action to use Reduce Person extract.

Current AC: 31

Mage Armor: 8 more rounds.

Shield: 19 more rounds.

Reduce Person: 20 more rounds.

If Shigeharu is capable of seeing the goblin:
As the little goblin drinks from the vial, he starts to shrink in size.

You're up


Round 3

The swordsman appears, or rather, four of him do, swinging around a frosty blade to trip the tiny goblin. He waits, expectantly, for the goblin's next move.

I'm at J11 and there are "four" of me. 18 trip vs your tiny-sized, flat-footed CMD. If it hits you take 8 nonlethal damage and are fatigued, entangled, and prone.

Arbiter:
Standard action: Cast Rime Frostbite. Move to J11, drop dagger in G11 and draw sword as I go, activating Scabbard of Vigor +2 for 5 rounds. Swift: Arcane Pool to boost enhancement another +1. Free action--spell strike with a Frostbite charge: 1d20 + 3 + 1 + 2 + 2 + 3 + 2 ⇒ (5) + 3 + 1 + 2 + 2 + 3 + 2 = 18 vs FF, tiny-sized CMD. If it hits: 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (5) + 3 = 8 Nonlethal damage, fatigue, entangled, prone.

Shield Rounds Remaining: (18/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (29/30), Images Remaining: (3/3), Sword +3 (5/5) rounds remaining (5 additional at +1 afterwards), Frostbite charges remaining (if a hit) (2/3), Arcane Pool remaining (3/4).


Just out of curiosity, can I use Spellcraft to identify potions as they are consumed (by observing the effects, I mean)? I mean, reduce person is pretty obvious, but others might not be. Also, though you didn't see my spell as I cast it, can you identify it as you view the effects/ residual charges remaining on my sword? Just thought I'd ask, as I don't know.


Round 3 - End

The little goblin would find himself upon his back and feeling quite unwell. Despite his current predicament, he would continue on to drink the vial he has in his hand. Provoke an attack of opportunity Once complete, he would vanish from sight.

Other actions hidden from view.

Arbiter:
Move action to drink potion of vanish thanks to accelerated drinker.

Standard Action to drink Cure Light Wounds extract.

Cure Light Wounds 1d8 + 2 ⇒ (5) + 2 = 7

Current AC: 24
Current Hit Points: 30 (1 Non-Lethal Damage) To be adjusted based off attack of opportunity.
Mage Armor: 7 more rounds.

Shield: 18 more rounds.

Reduce Person: 19 more rounds.

Vanish: 2 rounds.


I'm not really sure on spellcraft checks to identify such things, though I'm pretty sure I have an idea of what you used so please let me know when some of these said effects finish up.


Waiting for a ruling before continuing on?


Nope, just needed enough time to post. Here goes! Round 4

Shigeharu smiles at the goblin's predicament and strikes down with deadly force, but his overconfidence causes him to miss. Cursing his luck, he vows not to underestimate the wily foe again, swinging wildly in the direction where the goblin was before retreating around the pillar.

AoO vs prone, fatigued, entangled is a natural 1 :-(. I then stab at the square you were in and miss with a natural 3, then move to H16 (provoking an AoO from you if you like). I have 4 images up if/when you choose to attack me. Your entangled condition is gone now and your fatigue goes away when your nonlethal is healed.

Arbiter:
AoO spellstrike with katana and frostbite charge vs prone, fatigued, entangled: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (1) + 9 = 10. On my turn, standard attack with spellstrike in the square he was in: 1d20 + 9 ⇒ (3) + 9 = 12 Move to H16. Shield Rounds Remaining: (17/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (28/30), Images Remaining: (3/3), Sword +3 (4/5) rounds remaining (5 additional at +1 afterwards), Frostbite charges remaining (if a hit) (2/3), Arcane Pool remaining (3/4).


Actions hidden from view

Arbiter:
Move action to pull out potion of Cure Light Wounds.

Move action to stand up.

Non-action to 5-foot step to i11.

Current AC: 30
Current Hit Points: 30 (1 Non-Lethal Damage)

Mage Armor: 6 more rounds.

Shield: 17 more rounds.

Reduce Person: 18 more rounds.

Vanish: 1 rounds.

Perception 36:
The goblin seems to shift slightly closer as some dust moves on the arena floor.


Round 5

If you can see me at square H16:
I will move around to F17 and raise my sword defensively.

Arbiter:
Move to F17, total defense. Shield Rounds Remaining: (16/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (27/30), Images Remaining: (3/3), Sword +3 (3/5) rounds remaining (5 additional at +1 afterwards), Frostbite charges remaining (2/3), Arcane Pool remaining (3/4).


Round 5 - End

Actions hidden from view

Aribiter:
Move action to drink potion of Cure Light Wounds thanks to Accelerated Drinker.

Cure Light Wounds 1d8 + 1 ⇒ (3) + 1 = 4

Standard action to dismiss Reduce Person.

Non-action to 5-foot step to h12.

Current AC: 29
Current Hit Points: 30

Mage Armor: 5 more rounds.

Shield: 16 more rounds.

If you can see h12:
The goblin seems to have returned to normal size and stands there with claws and teeth bared. All previous wounds have seemed to have been healed.


Crud, my post got deleted. Round 6, here we go again.

Shigeharu moves around the pillar, attacking savagely. He nods with respect at the goblin.

You are...stronger than you seem. before he tries to trip him again, blade humming with arcane power.

Move to G13. Trip (no AoO provoked) hits a 24. If successful, you are prone, entangled, fatigued, and take 5 nonlethal.

Arbiter:
Move: to G13. Swift: Arcane Accuracy. Standard: Spellstrike trip with Frostbite. 1d20 + 14 ⇒ (10) + 14 = 24 Nonlethal damage 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (2) + 3 = 5


The goblin would fall squarely upon his back, but this time he seemed less fazed by it and would attack with tooth and nail.

Arbiter:
Full-Round Attack from prone with -9 to attack, but +3 from Mutagen and Goblin Bravery to round out attack bonus at +3.

Bite Attack 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (11) + 3 = 14
Damage 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (3) + 5 = 8

Claw Attack 1 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (6) + 3 = 9
Damage 1d4 + 5 ⇒ (2) + 5 = 7

Claw Attack 2 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (9) + 3 = 12
Damage 1d4 + 5 ⇒ (2) + 5 = 7

Current AC: 22
Current Hit Points: 30 (5 non-lethal)

Mage Armor: 4 more rounds.

Shield: 15 more rounds.

Bite Attack 14
Damage 8

Claw Attack 1 9
Damage 7

Claw Attack 2 12
Damage 7


Partial Round 7

Those attacks miss and don't disperse any images. Before I continue, I need to know--does 19 hit your prone/fatigued AC?

Arbiter:
Swift: Arcane Accuracy. Full round: Spell Combat, attack first, then cast Frostbite and Spellstrike with it. Attack one-handed with Frostbite charge vs prone/fatigued (not sure if entangled--it lasts for one round each time I hit him and I hit him at the end of my last turn), whetstone to damage. 1d20 + 3 + 2 + 1 + 3 + 3 - 2 ⇒ (9) + 3 + 2 + 1 + 3 + 3 - 2 = 19 Katana Damage 1d8 + 3 + 3 + 1 ⇒ (5) + 3 + 3 + 1 = 12 plus nonlethal damage 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (4) + 3 = 7 Turn paused to see if that hits.


No, it does not land.


Also, maybe you know and if not we can ask in the rules forum/the arbiter--I hit you on Round 6 with a spell that causes you to be entangled for one round. Are you still entangled at the start of my round 7 turn? Or does it end then? If so, that would affect your AC as well vs my attack. Thanks.


I'm not sure myself, but I can tell you that the extra 2 off his AC still would have resulted in a miss with a 19 for your attack.


I've not only double-checked, but triple-checked my math. A 19 will miss even if he is Entangled, Fatigued, and Prone.


Turn 7 finished

Oh I'm sure re: that attack, but since this is kind of my guy's shtick I thought I should ask and get clarification for the future ;-)

The swordsman can't hit the goblin, even though he fights from his back like an overturned beetle. Frustrated, Shigeharu tries another spell and renews his attack, trying to crack through Gnasher's defenses.

Spellcraft DC 16:
Frostbite again

So I attack and miss, then cast a spell (provoking an AoO). If the spell isn't disrupted, ice forms around my sword again and I stab downward, auto hitting (nat 20--fails to confirm). You are hit for 9 lethal and 6 nonlethal and are entangled (still fatigued and prone, obviously).

Arbiter:
Continued Full round action-- Spellcombat Rime Frostbite Spell Strike 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (20) + 10 = 30 Damage /w whetstone added
1d8 + 7 ⇒ (2) + 7 = 9 plus nonlethal 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (3) + 3 = 6 Confirmation 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (3) + 10 = 13

Crit extra damage 1d8 + 7 ⇒ (5) + 7 = 12 Crit extra frostbite damage 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (2) + 3 = 5

Shield Rounds Remaining: (14/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (25/30), Images Remaining: (3/3), Sword +3 (1/5) rounds remaining (5 additional at +1 afterwards), Frostbite charges remaining (new frostbite spell after hit if it sticks) (2/3), Arcane Pool remaining (1/4).


Recognition would flare in the goblin's eyes as he watched his opponent cast. Trying his best, he would attempt interrupt the casting by biting Shigeharu's leg.

Attack - 20/24 if not entangled
Damage - 8/10 if not entangled

Arbiter:
Reactionary Spellcraft 1d20 + 8 ⇒ (18) + 8 = 26

Attack of Opportunity - Bite 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (17) + 3 = 20 +4 more if not entangled still
Damage 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (3) + 5 = 8 +2 if not entangled still


One is me, 2-4 is an image 1d4 ⇒ 3

The goblin senses weakness in the swordsman's lack of concentration on the melee threat and strikes true...only to come up with air as an image winks out of existence.

2 images left, AoO misses. Back to you!


Uses an immediate action as you hit to do the following...

As Shigeharu's attack seems to connect, the little goblin starts rolling away from the deadly blade to wind up about 10 feet away.

Moves to i10.

After the immediate action on your turn, if you do nothing else the following occurs...

As the goblin's roll comes to a stop, he seems to take a pose that suggests he is readying to stand up.

Arbiter:
Immediate Action to use Roll With It in an attempt to negate the melee damage from the weapon.

Acrobatics Roll 1d20 + 15 ⇒ (14) + 15 = 29

Success.

Standard action to ready to stand up after Shigeharu attacks him.

Current AC: 22
Current Hit Points: 30 (11 non-lethal)

Mage Armor: 3 more rounds.

Shield: 14 more rounds.


That was the end of my turn, yep. Man, I've seen Roll with it before (which I assume that was) but I just re read it--I didn't realize you could go in whatever direction you want. That seems kind of crazy. Dah well, I'll keep fighting. I probably can't take my next turn for a few hours, though. This has been fun so far!


I just wanted to put it in there in case if you had something else to add in and just post whenever you have time. You waited for me so I have no issues waiting for you. Otherwise, it is your turn.


Fun stuff so far :D

I'll look into more stuff regarding how long 1 round really lasts, but to the best of my knowledge it disappears just before your next attack connects (having lasted 1 full round back around to your 'attack phase').


Turn 8

The swordsman approaches tentatively and employs a tactic any goblin is sure to appreciate--he feints left and spins around, slapping the flat of his blade onto Gnasher's groin.

Dirty trick (provokes AoO from you) to sicken you--hits 19 vs your CMD. If that succeeds you take 4 nonlethal and are entangled.

Arbiter:
Move to H11. Dirty trick (sickened) with Katana spellstrike with Frostbite charge, combat expertise used 1d20 + 3 + 2 + 1 + 3 - 1 ⇒ (11) + 3 + 2 + 1 + 3 - 1 = 19 Nonlethal damage 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (1) + 3 = 4

Shield Rounds Remaining: (13/20), Mirror Image Rounds Remaining: (24/30), Images Remaining: (2/3), Sword +3 (0/5) rounds remaining (after this round is over, it reverts to a +1 sword for 5 rounds), Frostbite charges remaining (if Dirty Trick hits)(1/3), Arcane Pool remaining (1/4).


Oh, and I moved to H11 before attacking. Had it in the spoiler but not the ooc for you.


Would you consider a Dirty Trick an attack? I readied for him to stand when you attacked and I'm trying to think if this would count as an attack for those purposes.


I'm almost certain dirty trick is an attack. Would I get an AoO for you standing? And if so, in what order does it resolve?


Because if you stand before my attack, I'd trip you instead of dirty trick, but I don't know how that all works.


I stated to stand up after you attacked so my attack would resolve, your Dirty Trick would resolve, I would stand up, and then you would attack. Sound right?


I'm sorry, your attack of opportunity would go off and then he would stand because of action economy.

Arbiter:
Attack of Opportunity from Dirty Trick - Bite 1d20 + 3 ⇒ (12) + 3 = 15
Damage 1d6 + 5 ⇒ (6) + 5 = 11

Does a 15 possibly connect?


I believe that a dirty trick would qualify for the readied action. Before the dirty trick goes off, Gnasher stands, provoking an attack from Shigeharu. Shigeharu takes this attack, and then immediately afterwards the dirty trick happens.


15 misses. So after the dirty trick resolves it's gnasher's turn again, right?

Arbiter:
AoO Trip (I know he won't still be tripped because the trip resolves before he stands, but I just want to use my Frostbite charge) with combat expertise 1d20 + 10 ⇒ (10) + 10 = 20 Nonlethal Damage 1d6 + 3 ⇒ (3) + 3 = 6

Ok, so when you stand up it provokes an AoO. I use a trip and hit a 20 CMD which triggers Frostbite, 6 nonlethal damage plus entangled. You can then just stand, since the trip resolves first. Then I dirty trick, dodge the AoO, and connect for 4 more nonlethal. So you took 10 nonlethal all told and are fatigued, entangled (1 round) and sickened (1 round) but no longer prone. Should be your turn, right?


You can't use a trip on someone that is standing, they are still considered prone. The attack is considered to happen while they are still getting up. And your dirty trick hits so your spell goes off with that. Also, the wording is so that he stands up after the Dirty Trick.


I'm pretty sure you can, it just doesn't do anything. I know you can use a trip as an AoO, it just resolves before you stand. So if you trip a prone guy it's usually worthless, but in this case it's not. We can check for a ruling, though, if you want.


Alright, so the wording I used was the following "Standard action to ready to stand up after Shigeharu attacks him." This would mean that the order to resolve everything should go as follows...

  • Shigeharu provokes by using a manuever he does not have an improved feat for so Gnasher resolves his attack of opportunity.
  • Shigeharu finishes Dirty Trick.
  • Gnasher starts to stand and provokes so Shigeharu rolvoes his attack of opportunity.
  • Gnasher finishes standing up.

I'm not clear on whether you can attempt to trip someone that is standing up. I understand why you want to do it, though I'm not sure if that is a legal choice at the moment. Either way, I was under the impression that the 4 nonlethal damage from the original dirty trick was the Frostbite going off.


So my attack of opportunity fails, your dirty trick is a success (4 non-lethal, 1 round of entangled, and 2 rounds of sickened), and then you wish to trip at this point as he is trying to stand up?


Yep, that's correct. The trip only has the effect of hitting you for 6 nonlethal and it should be your go.

1 to 50 of 149 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post / Pit Five All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.