
Kazaan |
5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Ki Throw
Benefit: On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.
Special: A monk may gain Ki Throw as a bonus feat at 10th level. A monk with this feat can affect creatures larger than his own size by spending 1 ki point per size category difference.
Now Ki Throw normally allows you to throw a creature up to your own size when you trip them. The bolded section states that a monk with Ki Throw can affect creatures larger than himself by spending 1 ki point per size category difference. You can normally only trip something up to one size category bigger than you. Does this imply that, if I have Ki Throw, my Medium Monk can spend 1 Ki to trip a Huge creature as if it were Large without the reposition or 2 Ki to trip and reposition as if it were a medium?

StreamOfTheSky |

The feat lets you ignore the normal size cap of one size larger than you (otherwise it'd be silly to make a rate of 1 ki point per size larger if there was only one size further up you could get; they'd have just said you can spend 1 ki point to trip something 1 size larger...). Presumably you would have to use the Ki Throw feat and actually move them in order to use the benefit, but I doubt most DMs would care if you wanted to forfeit that benefit.
Paying ki like that is a horrific waste, though. And big monsters have very high CMD, so you're paying a crap load of ki for something unlikely to even work. I really don't recommend doing this as a build or tactic.