
MoshiMaro |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
If I disarm a spellcaster of his material component or divine focus what will happen:
I assume I can either disarm him with an AoO (when he doesn't cast defensively) or with a readied action.
I succeed my disarm and make him drop the material component or Holy symbol.
What happens?
Assumptions:
1) He doesn't get a concentration check because the necessary component is gone.
2A) He loses his spell (same as described in the concentration section of the PRD)
or
2B) He doesn't lose the spell because he isn't able to "start" casting it at all because the necessary component is gone
Can the definition and/or timing of the Readied Action change any of the above?

tonyz |

He can't cast the spell because he doesn't have a required component. I'd probably rule that his action fails and the spell is gone (since you interrupted him in the middle of it.)
Of course, this requires that (a) he doesn't take a 5' step out of range of your AoO or reading action, (b) that the spell required is one that has a material component or divine focus, and (c) that you think this is preferable to just hitting him for lots of damage and forcing a really nasty concentration check nobody is likely to pass.

IejirIsk |

if you dont wanna hurt him, turn the flat of your blade...
as far as RAW about disarming components...
AoO happens before triggering action... (or at start)... i could see where he could just grab another (assuming you didn't swipe/drop the pouch...)... and i can see the failed cast, Or he could change spells I could see, since the casting, not necc of that spell triggered the AoO... interesting thoughts...
readied i think would have similar issues, but can be more versatile... but moves your init...

MoshiMaro |
The article below stems from Wizards and was released when the D&D 3.0 Rules were being used.
.......
PC (Vadania): I start casting summon nature's ally IV; it'll bring in a dire ape next round.DM: Fine. The goblin sees you start casting and decides he wants none of that. On his turn, he skitters up to 15 feet away from you...your spell has a divine focus material requirement, right?
PC (Vadania): Umm...yeah, why?
DM: Because the goblin's going to try to disarm you. First he needs to make an attack roll to hit you, [rolls a 25] which he does. Now then...the two of you need to make opposed attack rolls. Since the goblin is using a whip, he gets a +2 bonus to his roll.
[The DM rolls a modified attack roll of 25 while Vadania only rolls a 17.]
DM: He does it! Your holy symbol gets snatched out of your hand and it clatters to the ground. Since you needed that to cast your spell...the spell is disrupted. It's your turn, Krusk!
.......
From this article I conclude that:
1) The spellcaster does not get a concentration check
2A) He loses the spell
This is as far as I know the only good source (in either Pathfinder or D&D 3.x) which addresses the disarming of spellcasters in a proper way.
At the same time the rules have changed of course from 3.0 -> 3.5 -> Pathfinder but with those rule changes the example above would IMO still be a valid one...

Eridan |

It depends on the casting time of the spell and when do you disarm/steal the material component.
Casting time 1 round or longer
-> spell is lost if you steal the material component after the caster starts to cast (not as an AoO or readied action)
-> spell is not lost if you steal the material component during the start of the casting via AoO or readied action
Casting time Fullround action or shorter
-> spell is not lost
By the way .. in some cases you use the Steal Combat Maneuver for an action like this because material components/focus are not held in the hand (holy symbols are weared like an amulet etc.)

MoshiMaro |
It depends on the casting time of the spell and when do you disarm/steal the material component.
Casting time 1 round or longer
-> spell is lost if you steal the material component after the caster starts to cast (not as an AoO or readied action)
-> spell is not lost if you steal the material component during the start of the casting via AoO or readied action
You assume that with an AoO the action of casting a spell hasn't started yet:
a) This isn't written down in the rules in a proper way if you think otherwise please refer to the rules that apply.b) This does not compare with making an AoO triggered by the casting of spell where you just deal damage (regular AoO) -> the spellcaster does lose the spell which contradicts your perception of the timing in your example

MoshiMaro |
True, situationally stealing may be better.
The only kind you couldn't really do this to would be a quickened spell.
Of course "Steal" would be better but my playgroup plays Core-only hence my questions on the disarming.
The outcome is important because if the opponent doesn't lose the spell (or action) the ability to disarm in my example becomes a lot less stronger and a lot less viable to focus on with a build.

![]() |

You assume that with an AoO the action of casting a spell hasn't started yet:
a) This isn't written down in the rules in a proper way if you think otherwise please refer to the rules that apply.
b) This does not compare with making an AoO triggered by the casting of spell where you just deal damage (regular AoO) -> the spellcaster does lose the spell which contradicts your perception of the timing in your example
I assume most spellcasters are intelligent engough to cast defensively, meaning you will never receive an AoO.
In regards to using a readied action to target spell components.
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
Emphasis mine. The caster keeps the spell.
If you want to force a concentration on the caster, there are specific rules for that:
You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell.” If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).
You follow those rules.

MoshiMaro |
Readied Action wrote:Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.Emphasis mine. The caster keeps the spell.
I don't read here that he gets to keep the spell, that's what you make of it.
It also contradicts with the quote you pose below: “if she starts casting a spell.” is the exact same trigger as above.
If you want to force a concentration on the caster, there are specific rules for that:Distracting Spellcasters: wrote:You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell.” If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).You follow those rules.
I don't want to force concentration on the caster -> I want to disarm his Holy Symbol when he starts casting a spell... The end result can either be:
2A) He loses his spell (same as described in the concentration section of the PRD)or
2B) He doesn't lose the spell because he isn't able to "start" casting it at all because the necessary component is gone
It's about announcing and resolving actions, the line “if she starts casting a spell.” implies that casting has begun but not finished hence 2A will go in effect.
I don't see the different end result between the timing of a disarm and damage dealt; they happen at the same time with the same AoO or Readied Action. The only difference would be that a concentration check isn't necessary because the caster doesn't have the necessary components to cast/finish the spell...

MoshiMaro |
you could just try to sunder the wizard/etc spell pouch. XD wont work on sorc, or far into the campaign as they might start taking Eschew, etc...
I don't think sundering a pouch will destroy the components inside (at least my DM won't go along with that): they might drop to the ground but that's about it.
The ability is a lot stronger vs an Evil Cleric who channels negative energy through his Holy Symbol and/or relies on his holy symbol for high power spells which require it.
By disarming a holy symbol (and snatching it because my monk character does so unarmed) you can severly cripple an Evil Cleric which makes it a valid strategy imo.

![]() |

Artanthos wrote:
Readied Action wrote:Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.Emphasis mine. The caster keeps the spell.
I don't read here that he gets to keep the spell, that's what you make of it.
It also contradicts with the quote you pose below: “if she starts casting a spell.” is the exact same trigger as above.
Artanthos wrote:
If you want to force a concentration on the caster, there are specific rules for that:Distracting Spellcasters: wrote:You can ready an attack against a spellcaster with the trigger “if she starts casting a spell.” If you damage the spellcaster, she may lose the spell she was trying to cast (as determined by her Spellcraft check result).You follow those rules.
I don't want to force concentration on the caster -> I want to disarm his Holy Symbol when he starts casting a spell... The end result can either be:
Quote:It's about announcing and resolving actions, the line “if she starts casting a spell.” implies that casting has begun but not...
2A) He loses his spell (same as described in the concentration section of the PRD)or
2B) He doesn't lose the spell because he isn't able to "start" casting it at all because the necessary component is gone
To blunt: A readied action occurs before the triggering action. If you want to disarm the spell component you may do so, but the spell is not lost because the caster never started casting. This sequence of events is defined within the first paragraph I quoted and emphasized. You do not have the freedom to alter that sequence under RAW.
If you want to disrupt the spell, the mechanism is explicitly defined. You use that mechanism, you don't create your own.

MoshiMaro |
If you want to disrupt the spell, the mechanism is explicitly defined. You use that mechanism, you don't create your own.
I'm not trying to create my own; I think my example lies between the two rule quotes:
1 - The readied action rule2 - The distracting a spellcaster rule
and I'm trying to find out how it exactly works because they contradict each other in a certain way.
For example: If your statement on the Ready action would be consistent let's apply it to the distracting a spellcaster.
To blunt: A readied action occurs before the triggering action. If you want to disarm the spell component you may do so, but the spell is not lost because the caster never started casting. ...
If following your reasoning why would the spell be lost when someone deals damage -> The caster didn't start to cast so how can he lose it?
Now replace an attack which does damage with a disarm attack:
What's the difference....
I am not convinced it works one way or the other but I strongly disagree with you that the mechanism is explicitly defined.

Gwen Smith |

Now, what happens if the Cleric has 2 holy symbols? Can he just shrug and keep casting?
Assuming the second one is handy, sure. If he has to pull it out of a backpack, it takes a move action that provokes.
I would argue that if the second holy symbol is immediately usable, it would also be apparent to the enemy:
"I want to disarm his holy symbol."
"OK, but you can see another one around his neck."
"Crap. I guess this will take a couple of attacks, then..."

![]() |

Create Reliquary arms and shields.
You would have to disarm my weapon, my shield and my regular holy symbol.
I won't even take the feat myself, just purchase my magic weapons and armor through my temple.
I see little reason why a cleric would not do this just as a matter of efficiency. If not, he would be unable to hold a weapon and shield while casting.