
Blakmane |

What rule bars it?
The answer is undefined by RAW putting the answer in the realm of GM fiat.
Actually, you could interpret the trip ruling to bar a move action other than crawl after being tripped. "Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up." If you are tripped before you have moved that turn, the trip has not actually prevented your move. Thus, you still complete the action... except your only valid movement mode is now 'crawl', and you likely choose to end your movement so as not to provoke again (unless they just burnt their only AOO).
Thus the order is preserved. Begin action -> Provoke attack -> Finish action.

Kazaan |
I think it might be viable to say, since you can "pro-rate" your full-attack into a standard attack if you decide to abort after the first strike, it might be OK to subsume your standard along with your move to crawl 5' after being tripped in your starting square. And since your movement already provoked, the crawl wouldn't provoke again. But if you've used even one square of movement, you can't turn it into a crawl unless you have some exceptional ability and you certainly can't say, "Well, I was tripped from starting my move, so instead of moving, I'll stand up instead and then take my standard."

![]() |

How about this. If a character starts a move action (originally planning on moving 25'), moves 5' forward and spots an attacker who was around the corner, can they stop their move action there, and make a full attack at the now nearby target or are they forced to only make a single attack since they did a "move action", even if they only moved 5'?
Actions are not declared but consumed. If I step only 5', then I have not (in most cases) consumed a move action and can either continue to move, or take a full round action (that does not require any more movement). This also follows with the full-attack turned into a standard attack. After the first attack, you have only "consumed" a standard actions worth of attack, you can continue your full attack (consuming a full-action), or take a move action.

RhoOphuichi |

Actually, you could interpret the trip ruling to bar a move action other than crawl after being tripped. "Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up." If you are tripped before you have moved that turn, the trip has not actually prevented your move. Thus, you still complete the action... except your only valid movement mode is now 'crawl', and you likely choose to end your movement so as not to provoke again (unless they just burnt their only AOO).
Thus the order is preserved. Begin action -> Provoke attack -> Finish action.
I think you're forgetting that movement provokes an AoO when "moving out of a threatened square." By definition, you've begun to use your move before you provoke the attack. Normally, crawling 5' uses your entire move action - and you don't have an entire move action remaining.
How about this. If a character starts a move action (originally planning on moving 25'), moves 5' forward and spots an attacker who was around the corner, can they stop their move action there, and make a full attack at the now nearby target or are they forced to only make a single attack since they did a "move action", even if they only moved 5'?
Actions are not declared but consumed. If I step only 5', then I have not (in most cases) consumed a move action and can either continue to move, or take a full round action (that does not require any more movement). This also follows with the full-attack turned into a standard attack. After the first attack, you have only "consumed" a standard actions worth of attack, you can continue your full attack (consuming a full-action), or take a move action.
This lets a player avoid AoOs too easily. As I walk past a hidden opponent along my path, he doesn't get to reach out of the inky shadows to trip me - when he declares the AoO I just stop my move action (before moving through the threatened space) and attack the enemy. Similarly, it takes the risk out of moving away from an opponent in combat: "Oh, you're going to make an AoO? Actually that was just a 5-foot step."
Remember that the character in your example had decided to move 25' in a single round - he has to be moving pretty quickly to get 25' in under six seconds.
Maybe it makes more sense to think of actions as currency; a character 'pays' a move action to try to move. He has made up his mind to rush to the defense of that helpless child or whatever - he's not re-evaluating the situation every step!

Slime |

I tink that the description of the actions (move and standard) should determine the move actions allowed to "alter" the sequence. I would require things being maintained in the order even if you don't get to the end of your description.
Ex.:
1- A Declared moving away starting in a single threath square (move)and make an ranged attack behind cover (std).
2- AoO trip from B (proning A)
3- A Declares use of his Move to standup instead of moving away and the STD to move behind the cover (no shot behind cover).
4- AoO (any but trip) before of standing and getting another AoO because of trying to move out of threat THAT COULD BE ANOTHER TRIP. Combat Reflexes for B or Allies could keep smashing.
I would also allow:
1- A Declared moving away starting in a single threath square (move) and make an ranged attack behind cover (std).
2- AoO trip from B (proning A)
3- Declares the move action to be invested in crawling 5' and his STD (as a move) to Stand (Let's say there's no threat there).
4- That would cause 2 AoO (but no trip): One for crawling and One for leaving threat. Standing would be OK.
My take on it.

![]() |

Blakmane wrote:I think you're forgetting that movement provokes an AoO when "moving out of a threatened square." By definition, you've begun to use your move before you provoke the attack. Normally, crawling 5' uses your entire move action - and you don't have an entire move action remaining.Actually, you could interpret the trip ruling to bar a move action other than crawl after being tripped. "Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up." If you are tripped before you have moved that turn, the trip has not actually prevented your move. Thus, you still complete the action... except your only valid movement mode is now 'crawl', and you likely choose to end your movement so as not to provoke again (unless they just burnt their only AOO).
Thus the order is preserved. Begin action -> Provoke attack -> Finish action.
Well, on the one hand, you don't have an entire move action remaining. But to counter that you've already moved part-way, so (assuming your movement speed normally is greater than 5') you've covered more distance than you would have covered while crawling.
I'd allow the tripped person to, if they chose to do so, spend the rest of their interrupted move action to continue crawling along the original path they had specified into the next square. They might not want to do that; if anybody else threatened that square then crawling would provoke.