Intimidate to avoid combat


Rules Questions


If I were to demoralize a person/monster in the middle of combat, would they still want to attack me?


That's really up to the GM. The game is written, however, with the assumption that you can't win every combat with a single skill check.

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Like mplindustries says, it's up to the GM.

However, a Demoralize check will usually only make an enemy 'shaken', which means they're still willing to fight you, but take some penalties when doing so.

Shadow Lodge

Some GMs might allow it if you roll a very high intimidate check, but usually they are only shaken.


If they were already shaken from another source. . . nope, they'd run away. Otherwise they're rattled yet still wanting you dead.

Sczarni

meabolex wrote:
If they were already shaken from another source. . . nope, they'd run away. Otherwise they're rattled yet still wanting you dead.

Actually the shaken conditioned from a demoralized does not stack with other fear effects, so they would not run away. As a GM I would rule they would be less likely to attack you as you are the big scary scary, but left with no choice they gonna hit you.


Coraith wrote:
meabolex wrote:
If they were already shaken from another source. . . nope, they'd run away. Otherwise they're rattled yet still wanting you dead.
Actually the shaken conditioned from a demoralized does not stack with other fear effects, so they would not run away. As a GM I would rule they would be less likely to attack you as you are the big scary scary, but left with no choice they gonna hit you.

Where do you read that?

Quote:
Demoralize: You can use this skill to cause an opponent to become shaken for a number of rounds. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + the target's Hit Dice + the target's Wisdom modifier. If you are successful, the target is shaken for 1 round. This duration increases by 1 round for every 5 by which you beat the DC. You can only threaten an opponent in this way if they are within 30 feet and can clearly see and hear you. Using demoralize on the same creature only extends the duration; it does not create a stronger fear condition.

It only doesn't stack with itself.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intimidate to avoid combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions