Missing with a touch spell


Rules Questions


I know that if I cast a touch spell like shocking grasp but dont attack i can hold the charge.

but what if I miss entirely? like I roll a 1 on the attack or attack and hit a mirror image.

is the spell discharged harmlessly or remain available till my next attack.


If you miss with a melee touch attack, you can continue to hold the charge until you finally touch someone or something, immediately discharging the spell. Specifically regarding mirror image, it would not discharge a touch spell because it is an illusion(figment). That means the image you try to touch is not actually there or real therefore doesn't count as you touching it. The act of attempting to touch it makes you realize that it is fake and it disappears.

Dark Archive RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Robert Matthews 166 wrote:
If you miss with a melee touch attack, you can continue to hold the charge until you finally touch someone or something, immediately discharging the spell. Specifically regarding mirror image, it would not discharge a touch spell because it is an illusion(figment). That means the image you try to touch is not actually there or real therefore doesn't count as you touching it. The act of attempting to touch it makes you realize that it is fake and it disappears.

If you roll a 1, you hold the charge. In the case of mirror image, though, touch spells are specifically called out in the text of the spell:

PRD wrote:
Spells that require a touch attack are harmlessly discharged if used to destroy a figment.

Emphasis mine. You lose the charge if you strike an image.


Fatespinner wrote:
PRD wrote:
Spells that require a touch attack are harmlessly discharged if used to destroy a figment.
Emphasis mine. You lose the charge if you strike an image.

So they are. Interesting. I was under the impression that as long as a figment isn't real, you aren't actually touching anything. The description of illusion(figment) certainly lead me to believe that. But in all my studying of the various properties different schools of magic have, I have forgotten to double check spell descriptions to make sure. Thanks for the update.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Missing with a touch spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions