When to Make Recurring Saving Throw


Rules Questions


When a character gets a chance to make a saving throw each round, when does that happen?

In our session yesterday, the monk got caught in the smoke breath ("black cloud") of an achaierai. This is the description of the black cloud:

Quote:
An achaierai can exhale a cloud of choking, toxic smoke three times per day. All creatures within 10 feet of the achaierai immediately take 2d6 points of damage as their flesh melts and rots away. The cloud erodes sanity as well as flesh, and anyone who takes damage from the black cloud must also make a DC 15 Fortitude save or become confused. Every round, the victim may attempt another DC 15 Fortitude save to recover from the confusion; otherwise it persists, lasting indefinitely until the condition is removed or the victim eventually makes her saving throw. The confusion element of a black cloud is a mind-affecting effect. The save DC is Constitution-based. This is a poison effect. Achaierais are immune to this ability.

The creature ran up adjacent to the monk and used the black cloud attack. The 2d6 damage was rolled, then the monk attempted the fortitude check and failed. Therefore he was confused. When his turn came up in the initiative order, he rolled again and made his save. Effectively, the confusion had no game impact. It's like he was never confused at all.

I'm thinking I ran this incorrectly. Is it the case that the subsequent saving throw attempt should have come on the achaierai's next turn? Or perhaps the initial saving throw should have been made at the monk's next turn, not immediately during the achaierai's attack?

Also, there's no mention of a reflex saving throw to avoid the acid damage, so I ruled damage was automatic. Was this correct?

Please advise.

Grand Lodge

He has to make a save immediately, then again one round later, so most likely (and most conveniently) at the beginning of the creature's next turn.


There is actually a rule on when the 2nd save is made. I will see if I can find it. I think it is on the initiative of the victim though.


wraithstrike wrote:
There is actually a rule on when the 2nd save is made. I will see if I can find it. I think it is on the initiative of the victim though.

Any word on that 2nd save rule? I feel like I've seen something about it myself, but when I looked through the rules this weekend, I found nothing.

Starglim wrote:
He has to make a save immediately, then again one round later, so most likely (and most conveniently) at the beginning of the creature's next turn.

I like that interpretation: saves on the creatures turns. If I don't get any solid direction from RAW, that's the way I'm going to play it going forward.


Mage casts confusion on monk with a duration of a single round. When does it end? on mage's turn or monk's turn? I'm pretty sure everyone will say on mage's turn, why should this confusion last any less.

It might be more convenient to have the monk roll his save on his turn, but he is still confused his entire turn.

In general, I run it so that the effect ends, new saves made, or whatever are tied to the beginning of the initiative count when the spell or ability was used. This is usually the casting or activating creature's turn but if the creature delays you don't want to artificially lengthen the duration.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When to Make Recurring Saving Throw All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.