
![]() ![]() ![]() |
So I just purchased Celestial Armor for my Ranger's wolf animal companion, who has light armor proficiency and an Int of 3 so that's not an issue. However, according to the PFS FAQ, animal companions cannot use command words, so he could not activate the fly ability on the armor. Could my Ranger activate the command word for him if I wanted to use the fly ability?

![]() ![]() ![]() |

technically, i don't think there is a rule that you have to be wearing an item in order to activate it. i always have considered magic items you cannot wear to be activated like wands or rods, or one of those oddball magical fountains you find sometimes. nothing stops you from activating a magic item you know how to activate, assuming you are adjacent to it.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

No, I don't believe you can activate an item your animal companion is in possession of. That is similar to you holding a wand and an ally activating the wand with the command word on their turn while it is in your hand so the wand could be used by you and all of your allies. Or it is similar to you wearing a ring of invisibility, you attack and an ally activates it on their turn to make you invis again. Sorry, but this won't work with activating an animal companions magic items.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I don' think you can get celestial armor barding (as per the ruling on rhino hide barding)
Could an animal companion with an active Anthropomorphic Animal spell activate an item?

![]() ![]() ![]() |

ok, i understand the concept of not allowing someone else to activate an item you are wearing/holding to affect you. it is your item, you need to spend the action to activate it.
but what about using it on yourself? what about items that you are in possession of, or at least holding? i would argue that if both you and an ally are both holding 2 ends of a wand, each of you in turn could activate it on yourselves, as if no one else was holding it.
if i am a small character, and i am holding a fortress shield made for a medium or large creature, can i activate it to encase myself in a protective cube even if i cannot normally use it as a shield?
do you actually have to be able to wield/wear something in order to activate it? there are many magic items that are activated and do not take up an item slot. why couldn't you treat an item normally worn in the same way if it doesn't fit you? if you are physically capable of touching a magic item, why wouldn't you be able to activate it in the normal way?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

BigNorseWolf wrote:I don' think you can get celestial armor barding (as per the ruling on rhino hide barding)I have no idea what this ruling is. Can you post the link please? Celestial Armor is a special +3 chainmail so I don't know why barding wouldn't work.
coitenly. My apologies for being lazy.
You can just put your critter in regular old mithril barding (doesn't even take proficiency, since the acp on it is 0 and the non proficiency penalties go off of ACP) but celestial armor is a specific named armor.

![]() |

The FAQ on Named Magical Items also backs up that linky.
From FAQ:
"Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions."
Barding is definitely not the same shape as the original armor made for a humanoid.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The FAQ on Named Magical Items also backs up that linky.
From FAQ:
"Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions."Barding is definitely not the same shape as the original armor made for a humanoid.
So, does this mean small creatures such as gnomes and halflings cannot purchase small-sized named armor/weapons?