
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I am pretty new to Pathfinder and I am bewildered by the rules regarding the use of magic devices such as rods, staves and wands. Can anyone give me a primer on their use?
I read the rules as follows:
rods are generally activated by a command word, and can be used by any class with skill ranks in UMD
staves and wands are activated by spell trigger, thus they can only be used by a caster of the appropriate class, though a wizard, for example, could use an arcane staff or wand to cast a higher level spell than he otherwise could
the rules for using a scroll are pretty clear in the rules, viz., they can only be used by casters of the appropriate class and level.
Assuming a character could use a device, she must still satisfy a UMD check every time she tries to use it.
If all of the foregoing is correct, then it seems unreasonably difficult to use a magic device. I am building a sorcerer and I want to be able to use devices to broaden her spell list. It seems to me that if I have to apply the UMD skill every time I use even a basic magic item, there will be a high possibility of failure (even with skill ranks, a DC 20 seems hard to hit). Am I missing something?

asthyril |

it is only to use a magic item that you would not normally be allowed to use, for example, if your sorcerer was trying to use a wand of cure light wounds, which is not on your spell list. then you would have to make a DC 20 UMD roll to successfully use it. It is a very powerful skill that allows you access to any classes spell list of level 4 or less (in the case of wands) or ANY spell at all in the game if you can make the appropriate check to cast the scroll. along with other goofiness like wielding a holy avenger because your UMD is so good you can pretend to be a lawful good paladin :)
note that any wand/staff/item that recreates a spell that is already on your spell list you do not need UMD to use.

![]() |

note that any wand/staff/item that recreates a spell that is already on your spell list you do not need UMD to use.
This. UMD is for when you want to use a magic item for which you do not meet the normal requirements for use.
For example, Gandalf, a 10th level wizard, wants to use a scroll of Fireball. Gandalf is a wizard of high enough level to cast the spell, so he does not need to make a UMD check (or any other kind of check) to cast the spell. Gandalf can also use wands and staves of Fireball with no problems.
Gandalf's apprentice, a 1st level wizard, can also use wands and staves of Fireball with no problem since these are spell trigger items and don't have a level requirement. However, if the apprentice wants to use a scroll of Fireball, he must make a caster level check (not a UMD check) since he can cast wizard spells but has a lower caster level than the scroll (5, for a typical scroll of Fireball).
Pippin, a rogue, sneaks into Gandalf's workshop and wants to try the wands, scrolls, and staves. Pippin is not a wizard or a member of any class that has Fireball on their spell list. He has to make a UMD check to use any of these items. Since Pippin likes to play with other classes' magic, UMD is very useful for him.
Rods are scepter-like devices that have unique magical powers and usually do not have charges. Anyone can use a rod.
Evil Lincoln is correct - no UMD for rods.
staves and wands are activated by spell trigger, thus they can only be used by a caster of the appropriate class, though a wizard, for example, could use an arcane staff or wand to cast a higher level spell than he otherwise could
the rules for using a scroll are pretty clear in the rules, viz., they can only be used by casters of the appropriate class and level.
You don't have to match the class of the scroll, wand, or staff. You just have to have the spell on your class list, and in the case of scrolls also match the level and the type of magic (divine/arcane). A bard can use a wizard's scroll of Haste no problem.

Solwynn bint Khalsim ibn Abdul |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

asthyril wrote:note that any wand/staff/item that recreates a spell that is already on your spell list you do not need UMD to use.This. UMD is for when you want to use a magic item for which you do not meet the normal requirements for use.
For example, Gandalf, a 10th level wizard, wants to use a scroll of Fireball. Gandalf is a wizard of high enough level to cast the spell, so he does not need to make a UMD check (or any other kind of check) to cast the spell. Gandalf can also use wands and staves of Fireball with no problems.
Gandalf's apprentice, a 1st level wizard, can also use wands and staves of Fireball with no problem since these are spell trigger items and don't have a level requirement. However, if the apprentice wants to use a scroll of Fireball, he must make a caster level check (not a UMD check) since he can cast wizard spells but has a lower caster level than the scroll (5, for a typical scroll of Fireball).
Pippin, a rogue, sneaks into Gandalf's workshop and wants to try the wands, scrolls, and staves. Pippin is not a wizard or a member of any class that has Fireball on their spell list. He has to make a UMD check to use any of these items. Since Pippin likes to play with other classes' magic, UMD is very useful for him.
And when Pip fails we get to say:
"FOOL OF A TOOK!!!
Throw yourself in the well next time, and rid us of your stupidity!!"